Life Meets Book in Perfect Harmony

August 4, 2007 at 5:37 pm | Posted in Amazing Narrator, Books, Brain Food for Thought, Culture, Inspiration, LIfe, My Life with Books, Reading, Religion | 2 Comments

Last evening, I spent some time talking with one of my co-workers from India.  We began talking about language and how it is heard and perceived by native speakers versus those who have learned it later in life.  I have a lot of fun talking with S.  He is intelligent and oh, so very easy to tease.  As the conversation moved along, we began talking about the Hindu religion.  He explained the different persons making up the Hindu godhead and there were many obvious parallels to Catholicism specifically.  The way he was speaking reminded me so clearly of the way Beverly Donofrio discussed her spirituality in Looking for Mary Or, the Blessed Mother and Me.  It made me feel good.

Our conversation was especially meaningful to me when he talked about earning karma.  He is not a vegetarian like strict Hindus are.  He said that when he eats meat, he is buying bad karma.  However, he makes much effort to buy good karma.  Even neutral karma is better than bad karma.  He is a spiritual person and it his eating of meat does not interfere with that for him.  He is at peace with that.  I, on the other hand, dwell on my religious inadequacies.  Ever since, I’ve been thinking a lot about his spiritual views.  Could adopting his view of being honest about my “bad karma,” but focusing the rest of my energy working for the greater good be the answer I have been looking for?  Perhaps.

 After S left, I sat for a few minutes and read the last two pages of a chapter in Special Topics in Calamity Physics.  They blew me away.  The topic wasn’t religion, but government.  Still, it was as if Blue’s father was speaking to me in a code so that no one else would overhear it.  The last sentences blew me away:

Now, Dad answered his own question, his voice low and scratchy in the receiver.

“We are under an invincible blindness as to the true and real nature of things,” he said. (pg 261)

It’s time to take off the blinders that have been put in place by other people and my own misconceptions.  I hope my blindness isn’t truly invincible.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think it’s a wonderful idea to be honest about your inadequacies. We all have them…we are only human. The problem lies when we dwell on them. How can we move forward when berating ourselves for something we’ve done?

    As for the statement that we are blind to the true nature of things….I definitely don’t believe that. The three great questions of mankind: “Where did I come from?”, “Why am I here?” and “Where am I going?” are not hidden from man. These are knowns. For me, these are truths.

    Faith is belief in things that are not seen or heard. Everybody believes in something, whether in Deity, destiny, or themselves. It’s your choice to choose which one to follow!

  2. I understand what you are saying. We can know at least bits and pieces of what is true. I feel that I was blinded – by the weight I placed on following the rules. One alternative title I thought of after writing this post was “All I needed to know about Christianity I learned from a Hindu. :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

