Book Trailers for Some of My Favorites

July 19, 2008 at 10:30 am | Posted in Books | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’ve recently entered a contest to win a copy of The Questory of Root Karbunkulus by Kamilla Reid from The Friendly Book Nook. Click here for your chance to win this book. I don’t typically read fantasy, but what really caught my interest in both the post and the book was the accompanying book trailer. After I watched that, I was hooked.

This got me thinking about the concept of book trailers. It is an interesting idea to use a short video to sell a book. Trailers have been used to grab the attention of movie goers and sell films for ages. In such a competitive market, it could be just the tool needed to increase sales and readership. It’s not that much different than the blurb on the back of the book. The key is to make it compelling. If it’s not, it could turn people off just as quickly as it can get them excited.

I decided to do a little research. None of the books I have in my upcoming reads queue have book trailers, so I looked for any that might have been created for books that I absolutely loved. I wanted to see if the trailer would have sold me or not. I found book trailers for four books that I really enjoyed. Here they are with links to my book review, the book trailer and a short review of the book trailer itself:

The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff

For me, this book trailer was okay, but by trying to cover everything, it didn’t highlight what made the book so delightful. It would be difficult to do that in such a short clip. I did appreciate how the imagery matched the book. The actress playing Willie’s mom didn’t do much for me, but that might not have been a factor had I not already read this book. I’m not sure that I would have read it based on this book trailer alone, but it wouldn’t have turned me off, either.

Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl

This trailer really coordinates well with the book’s website, which is awesome. Other than imagery, it doesn’t provide much actual information about the book. It’s an imaginative way to showcase complimentary blurbs about the book.

Admit One by Emmett James

This book trailer is hilarious and it very fitting for the book. I absolutely loved this one.

The Time Travelers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

This is an interesting trailer. It shows some clips from the novel at a distance. I think the Tegan and Sarah song fits very well with the mood. I liked this trailer and I think it accomplishes what it sets out to do.


In the end, I think that book trailers are a great way to get more information on a book you are thinking of reading or purchasing. When they are good, they are really good. When they aren’t, well… Just with covers, you shouldn’t judge a book entirely by it’s trailer. Book trailers are just another tool in your informed reader’s toolbox. When the tool fits the job, great! When it doesn’t, there are many other tools available.

Have you used book trailers when researching a book? What have your experiences been?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. After every single book review that I write I have always looked to see if their is a book trailer either on the author’s website or youtube. If there is one I have always added it to my review. I’ve found quite a few and have wished that there were book trailers for some I couldn’t find. I love them!

  2. I haven’t used book trailers. I’m ambivalent about them- they’re essentially just ads. *Shrug*. I have nothing against people advertising their books, I just think it’s a little much sometimes.

  3. I noticed that you have read Umberto Eco. Did you enjoy it? I have read Eco’s critical theory, “The Myth of the Superman” and thought that it was very interesting, almost a modern Aristotelian attempt.

    What did you think of my blog? Did you only read the first post you came to? I just like to know what people think and try to see if I can add some things to make it a good experience for all.

  4. I can agree with both Natasha and Marie. I don’t think that book trailers will ever be for everyone. I kind of view book and movie blurbs in the same way you do about trailers, Marie. In order to catch more people you need to use multiple marketing strategies. I would be curious to find out how much it costs to create one of those. It would be very interesting.

    Jay, I haven’t actually read anything by Eco yet, but the Name of the Rose is pretty high on my TBR list. I did explore your sight a little, but your last post was the only one I’ve read all the way through. I have your site on my Google reader and I hope to get to know and understand pragmatism much better. It’s intriguing to me.

  5. [...] release today and I thought I would share it with everyone given our recent conversation about book trailers.  I would love to give something like this a try, but I don’t typically read that genre.  [...]

  6. I’m way behind on this, but I agree with you on The Monsters of Templeton. That’s now how I pictured the main character at all or definitely not, as you mentioned, her mother.

  7. [...] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by desorganisations on 2008-08-24 Book Trailers for Some of My Favorites http://literatehousewife.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/book-trailers-for-some-of-my-favorites/ – [...]


  8. Gray Collar Crimes is a contemporary crime thriller set in the world of identity theft, bank fraud, and high finance money laundering. How does an inexperienced mortgage broker pull off the biggest white collar crime in the history of American finance and walk away? The answer is really quite simple…by accident!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

