Call Me 37 Today

October 8, 2008 at 10:43 am | Posted in LIfe, Reading | 36 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, the day has finally arrived and I can no longer say that I am 36.  Well, I was born at around 9:50pm, so I could wait to say I’m 37 until tonight, but that’s being a little ridiculous (although if you agree with the whole date and time thing,  you’ll make me exceedingly happy right up until 9:49pm).

Seriously, 36 was a wonderful year.  I feel that I’ve come into my own in my career and as a book blogger.  I have read 70 books since my last birthday and have reviewed 64. It would be hard for me to pick out a favorite from during that time, but the books that have stood out in my 37th year are The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff, Gardens of Water by Alan Drew, The Last Queen by C.W. Gortner, The Autobiography of Henry VIII by Margaret George, The Witch’s Trinity by Erika Mailman, Trauma by Patrick McGrath, Songs for the Missing by Stewart O’Nan, Aberrations by Penelope Przekop, The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson, and Sweetsmoke by David Fuller.

The best blogging experience I had personally revolved around Love is a Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield.  I bought this book for my husband, but read it first.  Little did either of us know that this would have a personal connection for my husband.  He was friends with Rob’s wife Renee.  We had a great time going through his pictures from that era and we posted one of Renee.  It always irritates me when there is no pictures in memoirs because I want to know what the people look like.  In this case, Danny was able to supply that for me.  It was also really neat to listen to the tape of his band singing The Beverly Hillbillies theme song to the tune of R.E.M.’s Talk about the Passion.  That whole experience was wonderful.

Best of all, I’ve met some of the most wonderful people last year.  From authors, to publicists, to my fellow book bloggers, to my readers.  I won’t name any because I don’t want to leave anyone out.  My life is richer because of you all.

I hope that everyone has a beautiful, beautiful day!

36 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy Birthday!
    Lezlie

  2. happy birthday!

  3. Happy Birthday! I hope 37 is as good as 36 was.

  4. Happy birthday! Wishing you another great year. =)

  5. Happy birthday!

  6. Have a great birthday (and many happy returns)!

    Do you find that your odd years (37, 35, 33) are better than the even ones? My mom and I both think that our odd years tend to be better than the even (though 29 was an exception for me)–and my dad thinks we’re nuts.

  7. Happy birthday!

  8. Happy birthday!!!! :-)

  9. Happy birthday!!

  10. Happy b-day and many more!
    xoxo

  11. Happy Birthday Jennifer! I hope you have a fabulous day!
    (ps-I believe in the whole time thing. I take advantage of it now and don’t turn a year older until 4:33pm in the afternoon of that day-lol)

  12. Happy Birthday!

  13. Happy Birthday, my friend! I hope it’s wonderful.

    Thanks for dropping by to Scobberlotch today. I love those Vonnegut rules, too. Up next are the Elmore Leonard rules.:)

  14. Well, Happy Birthday!

  15. Happy birthday to you
    Happy birthday to you
    Happy birthday Literate Housewife
    Happy birthday to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Happy Birthday!

  17. happy b-day girl!!! :) wonderful wishes coming your way.

  18. ps, LOVE the U2!

  19. Happy Birthday! May you have ample time to read fascinating books, may your errands all be taken care of by others, and may your favorite type of cupcakes be on the menu for desert! :)

  20. Happy birthday! I am so glad you decided to celebrate a little with us. :-) Here’s to another wonderful year of blogging and life!

  21. Happy birthday!!! Hope it’s grand.

  22. Happy Birthday!!!

  23. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY DAY, MY BEST FRIEND!!!!!!!!

    I left you a message tonight – I will try you again tomorrow. Incidentally, in my mind you will always be 23. ;)

  24. Happy Birthday, Jennifer!

    Love the pic. It looks familiar :)

    I really like the bookish recap of your 36th year. I hope your 37th year is even better in every respect!

  25. Happy birthday to you
    Happy birthday to you
    Happy birthday Literate Housewife
    Happy birthday to you!

    Okay, make a wish! :)

  26. Happy Birthday. I waited until 10pm my time so that you would actually be 37 (at least on this coast). I have a birthday song for you:

    Here’s your birthday song and it’s not too long.

  27. one more heartfelt HAPPIEST of BIRTHDAYS!

  28. Happy Birthday!

  29. Happy Birthday! Here’s to a terrific 37th year ahead of you!!! I’m just about to leave my 30′s but they were all great years. Anyway– pop open the bubbly and celebrate like crazy. :) Cheers!

  30. Hey, October 8th is my sister’s birthday too! No wonder I like you so much!

    Happy birthday, sweetie!

  31. Happy Birthday….you’re in good company. 37 is a good year (so far, anyway!).

  32. A happy belated birthday to you! Here’s to another great year!

  33. Thank you so much for the wonderful birthday wishes. Despite the fact that I was in bed asleep by 9:30, I had a wonderful day.

  34. I’m a couple of days late but HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  35. oh my gosh, how did I miss this? happy belated birthday! :)

  36. Sorry this is so belated, but hope you had a great birthday!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

