The Sunday Salon ~ I’m Back!

January 11, 2009 at 4:09 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

The Sunday Salon.comAfter a week of computer frustration, I am back! This afternoon I actually felt like picking my laptop back up and getting back to work again. I’ve missed you guys!

While I’ve been away, I have been getting some things accomplished. I got rid of all my half.com books. I sold them all for $10 and then promptly bought The Reader. Yes, it’s true that the last thing that I need is a book. Still, what a nice trade against boxes filling the back of my Grand Caravan? With the room I’ve made, I’ve been able to able to box up my sprint and summer clothes and put them on the top shelf of my walk-in closet. My clothes will no longer be wrinkled the moment they’re hung up. This also is making more room for my my stamping supplies. I’m not finished organizing the space, but I’ve made some great progress.

I’ve also been reading. Since the New Year, I’ve read My Lady of Cleves, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Etta, and Tomato Girl. My Lady of Cleves and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button are both books off of my Just for the Love of It Reading Challenge. Because I’ve also joined the January is ARC Reading Month, I will be reading ARCs the rest of the month. It felt good to be reading non-ARCs. It’s re-energized me for the rest of the month. Etta and Tomato Girl are books off of my 2009 ARC Reading Challenge. I’m well under way. I’m currently reading Mermaids in the Basement for an upcoming book tour and author interview. This is another one for the ARC Reading Challenge. But that’s not all! I forgot about my first read for the War through the Generations Reading Challenge ~ The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I’m listening to it on my Zen Creative (which I LOVE) and enjoying it.

I’ve got a lot of reviews to catch up on now that I no longer get hives touching a computer after work. First up will be my last book of 2008 ~ Loving Frank. Loving Frank is the first book we read in my Facebook Historical Fiction Lovers Book Club. 64 people have signed up and I’m really happy about that. The book for February is Soul Catcher by Michael White. If you want to join in on the fun, there is plenty of time. Most of all, we’d be happy to have you.

The New Year is a time to make resolutions. As someone who is overweight, my resolution is either to lose weight or, when I’m feeling more confident, to learn to love myself. This year I wasn’t sure what I wanted. Over the past 11 days, I decided that I wanted to live healthy – and doesn’t that accomplish both? I joined SparkPeople (Lithousewife is my username). It’s a really cool free site where you can set your goals and meet others getting healthier. Best of all, there is a Bookworm community for those who want to devour more books while easting less. :) You know that’s right up my alley. I’m watching the first episode of this season’s The Biggest Loser and it is very, very motivating.  I look forward to giving you updates on my healthy me challenge as the year progresses.

I hope that all of you are doing well. I will be back on the blogs tonight – right after I do a Wii Fit workout.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so glad you’re back! You’ve been missed. :)
    Thank you, Amy! I’m glad to be back and reading my blogs again, too.

  2. Glad to see you back on here! I say you should aim to live healthy and love yourself however you are.
    Amen!

  3. Will look out for your Loving Frank review. I really enjoyed it.
    I liked it pretty well. I’m still trying to work out my feelings about the main characters.

  4. Good luck with your weight loss! It’s definitely not an easy thing to accomplish, but I’m rooting for you!
    Thank you so much! I need all the support I can get.

  5. Hi,

    Happy New Year!! Dropped by to see what you’ve been reading and to enjoy your discussions of ideas.

    Good luck with your organizing and healthy eating (those are my resolutions too). Have you read this article about bacteria and weight? It’s fascinating!
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=95900616
    Hello! Happy New Year to you, too! I wish the both of us luck in our endeavors. That is a very interesting article. Who would have thought? I’m planning on heading back to Grand Rapids in July. Hopefully we can get together over lunch while I’m back to see how far we’ve come with our resolutions. I really would love to see you again – although I doubt that I could call you Sue. You may be Dr. Swartzlander to me for life. :)

  6. Nice to see you back! Computer problems are such pains…I don’t blame you at all for not wanting to touch one again!
    I work on a computer all day and normally that doesn’t bother me. Last week was just rough. But, the up side was that I got some really good reading in. I’ll easily be able to catch up with my reviews this week.

  7. Welcome back! I’ll be interested to read your review of Mermaids in the Basement. It was among the books I read last year. I liked some aspects of it and others … well, perhaps you’ll have a different take on it. Which is all part of the fun of books, right?
    I’m only about 30ish pages into it, so it’s too soon to tell. I will have to check out your review after I’m finished. I’m intrigued by what you alluded to, but let’s see if I feel the same way.

  8. Missed you! There’s also a January is Read More Novels Month that I’m doing this month. I’m like the little reading bug this month.

    Great post.
    Thanks, Sher! That’s another good challenge. I’ll be curious to see how many ARCs I finish this month. Last week really shot me ahead of my normal to month book count.

  9. I have Loving Frank on my TBR list – bought it last year when I visited Taleisin West in Scottsdale. I’ll look forward to your review.

    Thanks for stopping by Bookstack today. Perhaps we should start a letter writing challenge??
    Let’s put our heads together and come up with one! I thought about suggesting that in my comment, but I didn’t want to be too forward. LOL! I wonder what else I’m missing out on? ;)

  10. While I didn’t officially join the ARC reading month, I’m trying desperately to whittle away my stack this month as well.
    You’re one of us, my friend. It’s all in the spirit, isn’t it?

  11. Glad to see you back! A friend told me about SparkPeople, I’ll have to check that out. I need to get myself on track this year. I like Weight Watchers and have had good success with it when I follow the plan.

    I’ve read Loving Frank and my book club is discussing it in February. I’ll look forward to your review.

  12. Welcome back, Jennifer. We’ve missed you. I’m impressed with all the reading you’ve done – and they all sound like great books.

  13. It is good to have you back! At least you have been able to get in some good reading while you were away from your computer. I have heard such good things about Etta and Tomato Girl.

    I need to work on getting healthier this year as well. With all of my health problems the last couple of years, I’ve gotten away from taking good care of myself.

    Have a great week and good luck with your goals this new year!

  14. Just dropping by to let you know that I tagged you for the bookshelf meme:

    http://athomewithbooks.blogspot.com/2009/01/bookshelf-meme.html

  15. Welcome back to the radar! I’ve been away in Hawaii for over a week although I have been posting in advance. I think the loss of internet is very inconvenient and annoying!

  16. Glad to hear from you. Thanks for posting about SparkPeople. I learn about the most amazing sites from book bloggers.

    I’m still reading Loving Frank.. I got totally distracted with a certain vampire book. No excuse for it I know.

  17. I’m just glad that you’re up and running again because I’ve really missed you. Don’t be hard on yourself about your physical appearance. If you lose weight, great! If you don’t, that’s great too because your beauty has nothing to do with the outer shell that encases your wonderful inner spirit. You’ll be beautiful forever!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

