Andrew Wyeth ~ Thank You for Making This World More Beautiful

January 16, 2009 at 12:39 pm | Posted in Culture | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

andrew-wyethI was saddened to learn today that Andrew Wyeth has passed away.  He has been one of my favorite artists ever since I wrote a paper about him my senior year of high school.  I wasn’t one to be very interested in art at the time, but his work and his life opened my eyes to what beauty is and should be.

He is most well known for “Christina’s World,” but I loved most everything he did.  I remembered being drawn to his Helga pictures.  I found them to be captivating and I feel that they depict women as they are, not as how we are often objectified.  They caused a scandal because Helga was not his wife.  I am still not sure where I stand on the issue of artists finding so much inspiration from a woman who is not their wife.  This theme came up most recently for me while reading Loving Frank.  Human beings are flawed.  While I don’t condone cheating on anyone, the world is big and forgiving enough to allow us to make something beautiful out of our mistakes.  It would be a tragedy to throw away or hide something just because its origins may be morally otherwise offensive.

Farm Road (Helga)

Farm Road (Helga)

Thank you, Andrew Wyeth for sharing your vision with the world.  It will always be a more beautiful place because you were here.  I wish you warmth and love in the hereafter.

Christina's World

Christina's World

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is such sad news. Our little local museum here has a nice collection of Andrew Wyeth’s paintings – 32 in all. It’s beautiful.

  2. My husband and I have a Wyeth print on the wall opposite our bed – we received it as a wedding gift. “Master Bedroom” shows a dog sleeping on his master’s bed, and it could almost have been painted IN our bedroom.

  3. I love Wyeth too. I have a print of “Pennsylvania Landscape” hanging in my bedroom. I look at that amazing tree in the foreground first thing when I wake up in the morning.

    I hope he felt like he lived a good and complete life.

  4. Hey… I chatted about your blog in my Sunday Salon post today. I read this post earlier today, but didn’t comment. Anyway, check out what I wrote.

    P.S. I’d love to make your “links” list if you could spare the slot. Bribe Bribe!

    Best,

    Sheri

  5. This a very nice tribute and thanks for introducing me to a new artist, had never heard of him before.

  6. Such a fantastic artist. I hadn’t heard that he died. I have always loved Christina’s World.

  7. I’ve seen these paintings before, but never knew what the artist looked like. Thanks for posting this. The art world has lost another great one.

  8. I have a Helga print hanging in my bath. The Smithsonian had a huge exhibit the summer I spent in DC. I love the depth, the muted colors, and the arrangement. He had such talent.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

