Reading in the Workplace

May 15, 2007 at 2:45 am | Posted in LIfe, My Life with Books, Reading, Work | Leave a comment

I often use my breaks and lunch hours to read.  Being a mother with young children, this can be some of the only uninterupted time I have to read each day.  I don’t like read at my desk, so  I usually take a seat in the kitchen at times when it is less likely that a co-worker will also be using the room.  For the past couple of weeks, however, it’s as if people are waiting with baited breath for me to head to the break room to talk about what I’m reading.  These are not strangers who just happen upon me reading and are truly interested.  These are people who see me three thousand times each day and could ask me questions or engage me in conversation at any time.  I enjoy reading and I enjoy talking to others about what I’m reading, especially if it has captivated my imagination.  I just don’t like to do those two things together.  ARG!  Maybe I’ll have to resort to hiding away in the stairwell.  That way, if I’m interupted by a talkative co-worker I will at least get some inspiration for that short story or novel that’s just waiting for me to pick up my pen and start writing.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

