Thank God I Was Seated

June 7, 2007 at 8:34 pm | Posted in Books, Film, Henry VIII, Historical Fiction, Philippa Gregory | 2 Comments

Since this project began, I’ve become smitten with historical fiction, particularly as it relates to Henry the 8th and his clan. This all began with a single book: The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory. Since then, it’s been difficult for me to keep myself away from her novels and other related titles. Actually, now that I’ve put that in writing, I lied. My interest with historical fiction began with Little Women and Gone with the Wind. I’ve loved this genre since I was in the 5th grade. I just didn’t know it.

After you read the following, you’ll understand why I was glad I was sitting down when I read about upcoming events on the Internet:

1: Gregory has been signed to the three book global rights deal with Touchstone and Simon & Schuster. Per Gregory’s website, these books will focus on the War of the Roses period. Although the first of these books doesn’t look to be published until 2010 (this is a LONG time for someone like me to wait, isn’t it, Trista?), the working titles are The White Queen, The White Princess, and The Red Queen. I will be at the bookstore with cash on the barrelhead the moment those books are released. If necessary, I will be at my local Barnes & Noble with a blanket or a chair and some Diet Coke to reserve my copy the evening before. I had fun doing this sort of thing in my youth for U2 and R.E.M. concert tickets and for Guns N’ Roses and Tori Amos album releases. This will be no less thrilling I’m sure. The only exception being that my fellow sidewalk sitters may be a little more on the stuffy side. They’ll need me to liven things up!

Now, before someone I know, love, and live with attempts to remind me that I can pre-order the book on-line to have it arrive the day it is released, I want you to know that I’ve already considered this option. If I did that, I would still need to take at least a half-day off of work. I would rather spend that time waiting on the store to open then waiting on the UPS guy. Stores open at a specific time. UPS guys, while good looking and contentious, are not nearly as predictable. In stead of pacing around my house and chewing off the last bits of fingernail I might have left at that point, I much prefer the vision of the gang of us singing 16th century drinking songs intermingled with boisterous readings from Gregory’s previous work.

2: The Other Boleyn Girl has been made into a movie and is scheduled to be released in the US on Friday, December 21. I think that it is a touching tribute to my husband to release this undoubtedly wonderful film starring Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johannson, and Eric Bana the day after his birthday. I cannot tell you which of us will be most excited about taking the afternoon off to celebrate Danny’s birthday at this movie’s first matinee. Hey, Danny! If we sign the kids up for late night babysitting, we can see it more than once that day! Glory to God I am so excited for you!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. have you read the sequel to gone with the wind? it’s by alexandra ripley, called scarlett. it’s just as good as its predecessor, and the best part is that scarlett got her happy ending finally!

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. You know, I’ve never read Scarlett. I’m not sure how I feel about it since it wasn’t written by Margaret Mitchell. I’m glad that it is good. I may give in someday…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

