God Bless the Tigers

June 12, 2007 at 11:03 pm | Posted in Baseball, Childhood Memories, Detroit Tigers, Inspiration, LIfe, No-hitter | Leave a comment

I got a call from my brother tonight. He wanted to tell me about Justin Verlander and his no-hitter against the Brewers – the first no-hitter for the Tigers in almost 24 years. It was the first ever at Comerica Park. Congratulations, Justin! Go Tigers!

Just hearing about Justin Verlander’s game tonight brought me back to the spring of 84. Jack Morris was the last Tiger to pitch a no hitter. My parents made me go to bed before the game was over because it was a school night. Still, I just had to watch the entire game to see what would happen. Even if Morris hadn’t pitched a no hitter that night, I couldn’t very well stop watching the in sixth inning. Pitching with that near perfection for that long is an achievement in and of itself. Thankfully I slept in the basement. Thankfully there was a television in the basement. Thankfully I had no qualms breaking the rules when I didn’t think I would be caught.

I stealthily turned on the TV downstairs and had the volume set really low. I pressed my ear close to the speaker so that I could hear the game being called by the great Ernie Harwell. Let me tell you, the combo of such a great game and such a great announcer was heaven to that 12-year-old girl who was in love with that team. I can’t believe I didn’t get some kind of brain damage for holding my breath so much. I felt jubilant when he finally finished off the White Sox. I was jumping up and down and screaming at the top of my lungs. I don’t remember getting caught, but it’s possible that if they knew I was up that they knew why. It was such an incredible game.

What an awesome achievement. I can’t imagine what it was like for those men to walk out on the mound in the 9th inning to such applause and excitement. I don’t think my stomach could handle anything more than just being a spectator. Do you think that members of the opposing team just give in? Could anyone really have the heart to try very hard to break a no-hitter in the 8th or 9th inning?

I wish I could have watched tonight’s game, but at least I’ve been able to watch one in my lifetime. The fear of being caught by my parents probably even added to the pleasure (I learned that at an early age 😉 ). Maybe I’ll get to watch one with Emma and Allison 24 years from now ~ if we’re all not too busy reading a good book…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

