Postponed – Fiction Friday Installment

June 22, 2007 at 9:48 pm | Posted in Childhood Memories, Film, LIfe, Parenting Dilemmas, Religion, Writing | Leave a comment

 

I am feeling particularly unmotivated today.  I didn’t even think about it last night.  I know that it is Fiction Friday, but I have nothing at this point.  What I have learned is not to leave the writing until Thursday night.  I will post my Fiction Friday for this week at some point this weekend.

Along those lines, I haven’t gotten much reading done this week, either.  No, Judi, it’s not because I want to make you wait anxiously at your mailbox for as long as possible.  I guess it’s been a combination of things.  I live 700 from home.  Much of the time, it keeps me out of any drama that might ensue.  At other times, I get hit with hot magma from a family drama that’s been brewing for a long time.  I’m not sure if it would have been better to know all along or not.

On Sunday I found out that a relative of mine has been in prison for about a month in a county jail for a fourth DUI on a suspended driver’s license.  After having been bailed out on all previous occasions, family chose not to step in.  This family member isn’t that much older than me, but I’m sure that tough love is a hard decision for parents no matter how old your child is.  They have made the right decision; still, my heart breaks for M.  I can’t imagine how it must feel to know that you have gotten yourself to a place like that.  Alcohol has a history in my family and I’m sorry that it has affected my generation.  Other than bales of hay, it’s probably the number one killer (though usually not directly) on my dad’s side of the family.

Ever since I found out, it has been on my mind.  It’s hard to live so far away.  My Dad told me to pray for her, and I do.  Still, doesn’t that seem like a little bit of a cop out?  How is that all that different from Pontius Pilot washing his hands?  Then again, prayer isn’t my “thing.”  I am much more of an action person.  I’m definitely not a meditative person.  I know that there are people who are and I’m thankful for them.

I asked my parents for M’s address and they weren’t even sure of the facility.  Thank goodness for the Internet.  I was able to find her within a few minutes after only one Google search.  I thought about what I would want to hear if I were in her shoes.  I would really be embarrassed.  It’s one thing to hit rock bottom.  It’s quite another to have it happen so publicly.  I wrote her a note telling her mentioning an old picture where I’m nearly strangling her with a hug when she was a baby.  I wish that I could do that right now.  I also mentioned that I loved her and always would.  We both have our own demons.  Mine is food.  Hers is drink.  I told her that we come from strong stock and that we had everything we need to change our situations inside of us.  Most of all, I told her that believe in her.  We all need to hear that from time to time, no matter where we are.

We are readers.  We know how powerful the written word can be.  If there is someone you know who could use a little encouragement, please take the time let them know that you care.  What better way could there be to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Summer of Love?

___________

P.S.  I have a confession to make.  I love the word incarcerated.  Every time I hear it, I can see the scene from Say Anything where Lloyd Dobler in the prison yard visiting Diane Court’s father, who is nearly spitting in his face, “I’m incarcerated, Lloyd!”  Just thinking about that makes me laugh (because of the tie-back to the pen).  It has been hard for me not to think or say that word this week.  I hope there was someone in prison who is able to make M forget, even just for a second, where she is and laugh.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

