#34 ~ The Lady and the Unicorn

August 16, 2007 at 12:23 pm | Posted in Books, Culture, Historical Fiction, Reading, Religion, Secrets and Lies, Sexual Identity | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

8592622.gif

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier

This book was an incredibly fast read and a wonderful experience. Before finishing this book I thought that this was the best Tracy Chevalier novel I’ve read thus far. The characters are interesting from the very beginning and, unlike some books – not just Chevalier’s, I never really figured out “where all of this” was going until the end. That is really nice.

The Lady and the Unicorn tells the story of a randy artist commissioned to paint a series of portraits that will become tapestries for a “new money” aristocrat in Paris. [to be completed]

10/28/2007

Okay, so I never did complete this review. It was a good book. I think what drew me to it more than any other of Chevalier’s work was the transformation of paintings into tapestries. All of the characters involved were interesting and engaging. I also think that all received the future they deserved as well.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Okay, I promise this is the last book of this bunch I’ll try to win! But I thoroughly enjoyed “Girl With a Pearl Earring” and would probably like this too. May I also say that the last sentence of your review intrigues me and makes me want to get my hands on this!

  2. I loved The Girl With the Pearl Earring, please enter me in this one too. Thanks

  3. […] more to this art form than I had known. Although I’ve read The Girl with the Pearl Earring and The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier, I really didn’t leave those books with this same sense. Bennett made me want […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

