Philippa Gregory in Chronological Order

August 30, 2007 at 5:04 pm | Posted in Adoption, Books, Family, Henry VIII, Historical Fiction, Philippa Gregory, Reading, Religion, Secrets and Lies | 24 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I thought that it might be helpful to list the books Philippa Gregory has written around the history of Henry VIII and his immediate descendants in chronological order for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of reading them for yourself.

1. The Constant Princess
2. The Other Boleyn Girl
3. The Boleyn Inheritance
4. The Queen’s Fool
5. The Virgin’s Lover
6. The Other Queen

Filling In the Gaps

Philippa’s books do not cover everything. After reading The Boleyn Inheritance, I wanted to know more about Henry’s last wife. I found The Last Wife of Henry VIII, which answered my questions and was a great read. Around that time, Alison Weir’s first “g0-round” in fiction came out, entitled Innocent Traitor. It tells the story of Lady Jane Grey, otherwise known as the Nine Day’s Queen. I would suggest reading this book after The Last Wife of Henry VIII and The Lady Elizabeth before The Queen’s Fool.

I have also read Portrait of an Unknown Woman, which is about an adopted daughter of Sir Thomas More. This book is no where near as directly related to Henry VIII as the others. What it does, however, is give the reader the feeling of living in Tudor England at the time of Henry’s affair with and marriage to Anne Boleyn. It’s very interesting to read a book where Henry is rearing his head in the book indirectly.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m very excited you’re reviewing so many of these historical fiction novels. I love historical fiction, but haven’t bought any new recently. All of these books you’re reviewing are going on my “to-buy” list!

    And Philippa Gregory? Fabulous!

  2. I have just found a love for historical fiction this year. I’ve always loved Gone with the Wind and LIttle Women, but I never tied that together until Philippa Gregory. She is absolutely fabulous! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pondering the idea of making one of the upcoming months exclusively dedicated to historical fiction. I had a great name for it just before I went to sleep, but I can’t think of it now. It’ll come to me, though.

  3. Thank you for the list regarding Henry VIII and his descendants in chronological order. I just finished The Other Boleyn Girl and now I know what to read next. Her book has now gotten me interested in royal history. I have just requested The Wives of Henry VII PBS documentary from my library.

  4. You are so very welcome! The Tudors have definitely become a passion for me. HBO did a mini-series on Elizabeth that looks wonderful. I’ve just received it from Blockbuster and can’t wait to get started with it!

  5. Thanks so much for this informative list. My book club fell in love with The Other Boleyn Girl and we are looking forward to reading the rest of the books – in chronological order thanks to your help!

  6. Sandra,

    Your book club should really love The Boleyn Inheritance then! I’m so glad to be of service to you!

    Jennifer

  7. Thanks so much for listing Philippa Gregory’s Tudor-related books in chronological order! I have searched for quite a while and since these books aren’t recognized as a “series”, they appear in no particular order on lots of sites.

    I too have just read The Other Boleyn Girl (wanted to read the book before I saw the movie), and want to learn all about the strange and sordid history of the Tudor reign.

    I read Allison Weirโ€™s Innocent Traitor last year, and was excited to learn that there are so many other well-written historical novels along the same vein.

    Iโ€™m not much of a history buff, nor am I a fan of the typical “romance novel” but these books have really drawn me in. Itโ€™s been a wonderful ride that I canโ€™t wait to continue!

  8. Oh! So excited I found your page! I’m going to bookmark it…I just read “The Other Boleyn Girl” …and now that I see “The Constant Princess” probably should have been read first, I’m kinda bummed. But…it’s OK! :o) I’ll pick it up soon!!

    Thanks so much…your page looks great and I look forward to cruising through it, when it’s not 11:45 pm at night and my toddler and baby are actually sleeping…so I need to sleep too! Ha ha!

    Carrie Ann

  9. Carrie Ann,

    I read TOBG first, too. Don’t you worry about that at all. They really are stand alone books.

    I have two young daughters myself and spend plenty of time surfing in the late hours of the night. I completely understand your predicament. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m so glad that you found my blog. Please keep coming back!

  10. Oh I will! As it is late again…here I am! LOL! I guess that’s the only time I get “me time” this past week. :o) I was actually coming in here to recap “The Other Boleyn Girl” and re-familiarize myself with the characters…when someone throws names around and lots of them…I get confused. Ha ha! I think I’m going to pick up “The Constant Princess” this weekend…and read that…but I can’t wait to get my hands on “The Boleyn Inheritance”.

    Getting pumped for the books! :o) What an interesting time period!

    Carrie Ann

  11. I’m online myself! ๐Ÿ˜› I will be posting my review of The Lady Elizabeth very soon, but I wanted to let you know before you dust off your copy of The Queen’s Fool that you might want to read TLE first. The reason I say that is because I would have enjoyed TLE cold on reading about Elizabeth I. A lot of what Alison Weir covers was done before in TQF and The Last Wife of Henry VIII. In fact, I should update this post after writing my review.

  12. Note to self…..

    LOL! Thanks for the heads up!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I want to thank you for listing thr books in order. I went to the library to get TOBG but of course it was checked out so by chance I read TVP first. After that, I realized I had to read them all in order. I am now in the middle of TOBG (SO GOOD!!!) and look forward to reading the rest. Though I think that when I read The Virgin’s Lover I will have to cover up the cover!! What a name!
    Thanks Again!
    Debbie

  14. Debbie, I am so glad you found my site and are enjoying it. If you are loving TOBG, you will absolutely love TBI as well. They are both so darn good. As a side note, The Virgin’s Lover was my least favorite in the series.

  15. What should I read after The Boleyn Inheritance?

  16. Amy, you have two options after TBI ~ The Last Wife of Henry VIII by Carolly Erickson or The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir. Your choice is really dependent upon the historical figure you’re most interested in. If that is Elizabeth, I would definitely read The Lady Elizabeth first. If your interest is in Catherine Parr, then read Carolly Erickson. How have you been enjoying the Tudor family so far? I hope that you’re loving the books as much as I did!

  17. Oh my gosh…I need to start reading again! When I get the chance! I moved with my dh and kiddos from GA to CO and it’s been crazy! Found my next tudor book I’m going to read and got all psyched again!!!! When I’m unpacked and outta these boxes…it’s back to Tudor’s baby!

  18. Carrie Ann,

    I wondered where you ran off to. That is a huge move! Do you like your new area? GA to CO is definitely a mind shift. I love the Denver/Colorado Springs area. The people are really nice.

  19. wow thanks so much!

    this was extremlely helpful!

  20. Thank you! I have all the books but I had no idea in which order I should read them in. You helped me out a great deal. I am getting started on them right away!

  21. Thanks for the reading order!! I have just finished the Constant Princess and it was fantastic! A random question re historical fiction – do you know of a good book that has been written about Arthur and Camelot? Thanks.

  22. Wonderfully well written blog!!!

  23. You’re totally correct on this piece!!

  24. This is the reason I keep coming back to this site. I can
    not believe I missed so many entries since my last visit!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

