#40 ~ Jonathan’s Story; Part 1

September 25, 2007 at 10:21 pm | Posted in Books, Guiding Light, Guilty Pleasure, Jonathan's Story, Jonathon's Story, Reading, Secrets and Lies | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Jonathan’s Story by Julia London with Alina Adams

* Spoiler Alert: If you are not caught up to last week Friday’s episode of Guiding Light,
this post touches on plot lines. *

I was able to catch up on my backlog of Guiding Light episodes over the course of the work day yesterday. By the time I turned my mp3 player off, I was extremely excited to start reading Jonathan’s Story. I could not believe my ears when I heard Reva talking to Alan about the MURDER they committed while they were away from Springfield. Murder? Who? Alright!* Reva and Alan teaming up as assassins is really something I could dig my chops into and I knew the answers to my questions were in the small hardcover book I had waiting in my purse.

The book begins with a Prologue that tells the story of the day that Jonathan and Sarah “died” in a car crash. Although I am very familiar with this episode, reading about it brought the images back in mind very well. Although I have to admit that it seemed funny to be reading about Reva instead of watching her or listening to her, I think that author did a great job of capturing her essence in a few short pages.

I was able to read through Chapter Seven. I have really enjoyed it so far. I can hear Tom Pelphrey’s voice and see the character of Jonathan very clearly as I read. What is happening is credible. We’re also introduced to Aubrey Cross, a young woman just about Jonathan’s age and type. She is the daughter of Tourmaline, CA’s sheriff named Zeke. Zeke is well revered in his community, but Aubrey knows him to be a vile, hateful man. I believe we have our first candidate for assassination here. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jonathan reaches Tourmaline and finds it to be a small town in which he can settle down and start a life with his daughter. He and Aubrey have had a few sexually charged meetings that confuse them both. Jonathan, bless his troubled heart, feels guilty being attracted to a woman other than his dearly departed Tammy. As much as he loves Tammy, I don’t see his guilt standing in his way that much longer.

As we enter Chapter Eight, Aubrey has a confrontation with Keith Stanley, her ex-boyfriend. Keith and Zeke get along famously and Aubrey is pretty sure that the two men have worked together to murder at least one other person. I find some personal satisfaction from this. I have a Keith in my past who did me wrong. I loved reading the in Chapter Seven where Aubrey “cuts him off at the knees” publicly. I would love to have that experience myself.

* Literatehousewife does not in any way condone committing murder in real life. That being said, she loves a good murder in her fiction.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Isn’t it funny how much the soaps can draw us in? I remember my Nana watching General Hospital when I was growing up, and still can get behind a story of the Quartermaine’s. When I got older it was the Y&R, and when the Peanut was just a baby who NEVER SLEPT, I would PVR episodes and got myself all caught up in the wee hours of the morning.

    It must be nice to already have a visual image and a “sound” of their voice for the characters though, eh?

  2. I grew up watching General Hospital myself. I’ve always loved the name Leslie because of Leslie Quartermaine (assuming she’s still one ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I’m almost finished with the book now and I really still can’t get over how my imagination comes through with the voices. It’s kind of bizarre. The author is good at writing Reva, Alan, and Jonathon. None of the dialog seems out of place for them at all.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

