Housekeeping

October 15, 2007 at 10:13 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading, What's Up | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

When I started this blog, I simply assigned each book I read the number corresponding to the order in which I read it. This number also served as the Title to the review. I know it took me long enough, but I’ve come to wonder what do these numbers mean to anyone – even me? Absolutely nothing. So, I’ve gone back and added the book title after the number. Hopefully this will make my site more reader-friendly.

As the year is drawing to a close, I am thinking about what I’m going to do with this blog after I’ve met my goal of reading 52 books this year. Once I have, the name of my blog is irrelevant. As I’m getting a little tired of the pace, especially as my workload has increased significantly over the past two months. I could change the blog name and keep adding book reviews as I get the chance. I could download it for myself and delete it. I’m sure there are other options out there that I’m just not thinking of. I would really be open to any suggestions you might have.

One final thing I’m thinking about is the title to select for my 52nd book. Completing this challenge is definitely something I’m proud of. Should the 52nd book matter? Should it be some sort of monumental piece of literature (Anna Karenin, etc.)? Should I read my favorite book of all time? I’ve got time to think about it. I’m currently in the middle of #42 ~ The Madonnas of Leningrad. There are nine more books leading the charge first (Good God! How am I going to finish them all???).

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just happened on this blog from LibraryThing. First – Gone with the Wind is my favourite book of all time too! Second – even if you do decide to stop writing this blog (which I hope you don’t!), I hope you’ll keep it around so people like me can benefit from it.

  2. Sapna,

    I’m so excited that you found my blog! I just joined LibraryThing over the weekend. It’s wonderful, but I haven’t quite figured out how to navigate it outside of adding my books.

    Gone with the Wind is my favorite book as well! You will find many references to Margaret Mitchell, Scarlett, and Melanie here. Have you read Daughter of the South, a biography on MM? It’s an excellent book. I highly recommend it.

    I am definitely going to keep this site up. I’m thinking of changing the name on January first. I don’t think I’ll be able to manage another 52 books next year so the title would get confusing I think. I think what I might attempt for next year is to read significant tomes such as War and Peace mixed in with large series like Harry Potter. I need to do some research to see what’s been done already and find a place where I might have an opportunity to add some value.

    Jennifer

  3. I’m in law school right now, and reading non-school stuff is increasingly difficult. I took on the 20 book challenge this year and am now up to 13. I don’t think I’m going to finish 7 more by the end of the year, what with school and exams. Maybe I’ll just read a lot of light stuff at the end, or make it the 15 book challenge.

    Daughter of the South sounds interesting – I’ll put that on my wishlist. The more I look through your site, the more I think I’ll be turning here for further reading suggestions. I especially love that you’re as fascinated by the Tudors though my interest is very recent. I’ve made a note of Philippa Gregory and will be looking to her books next.

  4. Oh – and I’m imperfectmanx on LibraryThing.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

