New Places I Love

November 2, 2007 at 1:47 am | Posted in Historical Fiction, LibraryThing | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

Throughout this year my WWW view of books and reading has expanded a great deal. It’s not long after you start righting about the books you’ve read that you start wandering looking for others who might be like you. I’ve found two great places to go this year that I would love to share with you.

Historical Fiction.org

I mentioned a while back that I had joined a wonderful board dedicated to and named Historical. I have found some great book friends there and have had many laughs. Among the cast of characters there is Divia, who will go to bat for the Victorian era any day of the week, Diamondlil, who keeps things running, and LucySnowe, who makes me laugh really hard as I think about books and historical characters in a different way. If you love historical fiction like I do, come on aboard! Speedhaven is my moniker. It’s a welcoming board for people of just about any taste.

LibraryThing

While I was on vacation a reporter posted a comment and within that comment was a reference to LibraryThing. That was the best unintentional tip I’ve received in a long time. At first I thought it was just a place to make an electronic catalog of my books – then I discovered that it was a way to share my reviews with even more people. I can find the libraries of people with similar books and get new inspiration at the click of a button. It’s awesome to say the least. I’ve already met a couple of great fellow readers through this site. LibraryThing is certainly the place for bookworms to meet new people. Speedhaven is my moniker there, too.
If that weren’t enough, you can do some freakin cool things with your book covers. For example, here is a portrait of every book I’ve read this year and those I’ve currently started:

my_covers.jpg

They provide all of these thumbnails in a format that can be used to create photo mosaics! This has given me the most wonderful idea: to have my husband take a picture of me reading the last page of my 52nd book. Then, covert it into a photo mosaic using all AndreaMosaic that includes all 52 of my book covers. What a way to end that phase of my blog! I’m so in love with that idea that I’m not adding any other books to my catalog until then. I cannot wait!

So, now you know a couple sites I love to frequent when I have the time. I hope that you get a chance to check them out yourself.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh my goodness how strange! i was going to tell you about library thing b/c i just found out about it yesterday. admittedly, librarything is a little nicer, but since you can only catalog 200 books for free, another option is shelfari.com — i’m on that one (w/ this email address) so you can add friends and see what they’re reading, etc.

  2. Thanks for posting about Historical Fiction .org!

  3. The photo mosaic program from Library Thing is awesome. I use it a lot.

  4. I *love* historicalfiction.org.

    And Library Thing rocks… you can even add it to the sidebar of your blog (I’ve got it up on mine). The only problem now is to keep it updated. Sigh. Never enough hours in the day.

  5. Marg, I waited too long to post about Historical Fiction. I love that board.

    b*babbler, I knew that you would love historicalfiction.org! Have you joined? If so, what’s your moniker? I will have to add the sidebar. Now that you mention that, I remember seeing it on your site now.

    judi, I like the looks of shelfari.com, too! I have no idea how I could keep them both up. I went ahead and bought a lifetime membership to LibraryThing. I couldn’t help myself. 🙂 At the end of this year I will definitely be adding more than 200 books.

    Daphne, I played with the mosaic program over the weekend for a website I’m creating for a class. I couldn’t just take one picture and make a mosaic of it using 60 other pictures. It kept wanting to make all 60 mosaics. I’ll have to read the documentation on that.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

