The Other Boleyn Girl Virtual Book Club Contest

February 27, 2008 at 9:03 pm | Posted in Historical Fiction, Philippa Gregory | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

This contest appears to have been completed.  You can’t view the site any longer.  Thanks to everyone who participated!

_______________________________________

Sony Pictures has sponsored a fun contest surrounding the release of The Other Boleyn Girl. People create and join virtual book clubs. Each person who joins takes a quiz to earn points for their club. The virtual book clubs with the most points can win some fun TOBG or Philippa Gregory prizes. The organizer of the book club earning the most points wins a trip for two to London and will meet Philippa Gregory! I’ve started my own club. If you don’t start your own club, would you consider joining mine? All you have to do is click on this link and follow the instructions? I’d love to have you join me.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i joined your club – how cool would it be if you won!! i even scored you 9 points – i wonder which ? i got wrong…

  2. Thanks!!! I hope that we all at least win something. An autographed copy of TOBG would be very sweet.

    Some of those questions were hard. The one about Anne being married beforehand didn’t ring a bell to me at all.

  3. I joined too, also 9 points. Anne and whatever-his-first-name-was Percy ‘pledged their troth,’ so they weren’t actually married, but it sort of carried the same significance–until Wolsey and Henry VIII said ‘no way.’ The one I missed was (I’m fairly certain) about her father and uncle. Half of the Anne and Mary Boleyn books seem to say it was their uncle who pushed and half don’t bother bringing him in and say it was just their dad. I couldn’t remember which TOBG said was the impetus.

  4. Thank you so much!!!!

    I thought it was Katherine Howard who made that pledge. Did they both do it? If so, how frighteningly quickly did history repeat itself.

    In the book it was definitely her uncle. The reason I remembered that was because it’s the opposite in The Tudors (which I didn’t really care for).

  5. Yes, Katharine did something very similar, some books say she and whomever she did that with actually lived as man and wife for some period of time, although I’m not sure what Gregory’s take on that was in The Boleyn Inheritance. But then she forgot about that guy and got down with Thomas Culpepper, and said when she died that she wished she was dying Culpepper’s wife than the queen, or something of that nature.

  6. I’ll have to go back and check, but I think that Katherine’s “first” husband bit the bullet with her. In Gregory’s book she hired him on as her secretary or something like that to buy his silence. It didn’t last long. In the end it was thought that his life could have been spared but his comments before the Privy council sealed his fate. I’ll have to go back and read that part again, though.

  7. Dereham was his name, I think. He left to go and find his fortune and when he came back, she was Queen. She took him as her secretary, and I think you’re right, I think he was executed with her, Culpepper too, I think.

  8. I just got you 10 points! Hope you win.

  9. Thank you, Daphne! I hope that we all win something.

  10. uhh yeah all the answers to the quiz are the top answer so for the girl who got one wrong maybe you can take it again and see which one you got wrong.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

