On the Horizon

April 2, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Posted in Books, entertainment, Family, Historical Fiction, LibraryThing, LIfe, Reading | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have some fun things to look forward to in Literate Housewife-Land:

  1. I received an Advanced Readers Copy of Artist’s Proof by Lander Marks in the mail on Monday. After I finish reading it, I will be interviewing the author. I’m really excited to get to do that again.
  2. I am on the look out for two other ARCs: The Venetian Mask by Rosalind Laker (snagged through LibraryThing) and Gilding Lily by Tatiana Boncampagni (through HarperCollins). Since I snagged The Venetian Mask last month and it has yet to arrive, I’m starting to have my doubts about receiving it. That’s a little disappointing, but I’ll survive. Besides, it will be nice change to read two novels that are not historical fiction. I love historical fiction as you know, but a girl needs a little variety every now and then. šŸ™‚
  3. My parents and my Uncle Ryan are coming down for a visit this weekend. I love to watch my kids interact with my parents. It should be a nice, relaxing weekend.
  4. I have registered http://www.literatehousewife.com! I am busy dreaming about how I want the site to look and work. As I’m no artist, I am looking for someone to help me with the colors, graphics, and logo I’ll need to complete the website and I’ve finally found a good lead. I’m hoping to have the site up and running this summer. I’m going to incorporate my blog and my Tudor Fan Site, which I’ll be building on that as well as well as adding a forum. When all that happens, be on the lookout for changes here, too.
  5. I am going to Vegas in June!!!!! As part of my new position at work, I’ve been invited to attend a conference being held at The Venetian. Sometimes I really feel like my life is swimming in connections. Artist’s Proof takes place in Las Vegas and, assuming that my LibraryThing snag will arrive in time, I might be reading The Venetian Mask by the pool at the Venetian!

Before all of that, I’ll be quickly finishing up Devil Water by Anya Seton and posting my review. It’s been a much more interesting read than the last book.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It seems like there are at least a couple of books that haven’t made their way to people from last month’s batch. The publisher of The Venetian Mask is the same one that has been doing the Jean Plaidy reprints, so I’m sure they aren’t going out of business, like one of the other ER publishers. How did you get the HarperCollins book, it wasn’t on their FirstLook last month, was it? Did they contact you to review it?

    SO EXCITING that you’ll be doing another author interview! I can’t wait to hear the book is! Here’s my thought, though: what if you have a book you are to review and an author to interview and you can’t get into the book as happened recently? That would be a very hard situation.

  2. Hey, people finally started getting Venetian Mask yesterday. Perhaps that means that ours are coming!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

