6 Random Things about Me

April 17, 2008 at 10:02 pm | Posted in Books | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was tagged by Meg to write a post about random things. The game is to write down six random things about myself, then tag six others. Lest I put too much thought into this and never meet my challenge, here goes:

  1. The first record album I purchased was Michael Jackson‘s Off the Wall. My last was Pyromania by Def Leppard.
  2. My slogan for 8th grade treasurer was, “Don’t sit on the potty, vote for Dodde.” For those who don’t know, yes my maiden name semi-rhymes with potty. I did not win that election.
  3. By the time we made it to Neuschwanstein Castle near Bavaria during my one trip abroad, I was running very low on money. So, instead of paying the 8 marks for a ride up the mountain, I took the hike. My mantra all the way up was “Richard Simmons would be proud of me. Richard Simmons would be proud of me.” When I finally got to the top, I hadn’t even caught my breath before it was time to turn around. I might never get the chance to explore that castle, but I am proud of that hike. It was no small feat for a rather pudgy young woman.
  4. My brother and I used to dig holes in the dirt underneath our parents deck and then customize them with little “rooms” that we thought our captured toads would love to live in. I guess we never got it quite right because they always escaped.
  5. If I could change one thing about my life, I would have stayed and graduated from CMU instead of transferring to a college near home.
  6. I used to have Say Anything memorized in its entirety.

Now that you know a little bit more about me, how about you?

b*babbler

Devourer of Books

Team Meat

Judi

SubAstute

CrazyMetGirl

Rules:

  • Link to the person who tagged you.
  • Post the rules on your blog.
  • Write six random things about yourself.
  • Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs.
  • Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website.
  • Let your tagger know when your entry is up.

Have fun.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Jennifer! Of course… Tigers fans are welcome! My family is from Toledo, OH, so half Tigers fans, half Indians fans…. If I had to pick an AL team, it would be Detroit 🙂 Also, my son is throwing out the first pitch at a Mud Hens game in June — can’t wait!!

    OK, for the random things list…. I will do it tomorrow — It’s the 13th inning of the Mets game, and they need my full attention to bring this thing to a rapid and happy finish!

  2. Toad rooms! Why didn’t I ever think of that? My sister and I dug rooms for our troll dolls.

    On the other hand, the trolls never escaped.

  3. I’ve met your challenge. 😉

    And I spit out the water I was drinking when I read “don’t sit on the potty, vote for Dodde.” I am going to laugh about that all day long!

  4. Oh dang, I meant to add my campaign slogan to my 6 as well. It was “Play your cards well, vote for Cardwell”. No offense, but I think it was a little better than yours (I didn’t win either, though).

  5. What a fun thing! Thanks for getting it started, Meg!

    Tracy, I’ll cheer on the Mets for no other reason than that I absolutely despise the other baseball team from New York….

    Trista, I should have been your campaign manager. I will call you with my campaign slogans.

    Devourer, I think that our slogans alone showed that we were creative enough to deserve the position. Oh well… Their loss. 🙂

  6. “Say Anything” is amazing. To think, I never even heard of it until my senior year of high school when we watched it in AP English. Why did we watch it in AP English? I have no idea, but I loved it!

  7. I didn’t even know about Say Anything until it came out on video. They showed it on campus my freshman year of college. I’ve been hooked on Lloyd Dobler ever since. You certainly had a great teacher to show that movie in English class!

  8. Hey!! I went to CMU for two years before my family moved to California!! Great school! I lived in Tate Hall.. what about you?

    I also loved the movie Say ANything, although I never memorized it!

  9. What a coincidence!!!! I stayed in Sweeney. What years were you there? I was there 89-90 and 90-91. I really do wish that I graduated from there. I moved back to GR over a guy that I was involved with. I thought moving closer to him would make our relationship better. Instead, we were through before the end of the 90-91 school year. Live and learn… Incidentally, that guy was also why I ended up memorizing that movie. We watched it constantly and he kept calling me Diane. To bad he was more like Joe and less like Lloyd. 😉

  10. Hey there.. I am older than you.. I was there fall 1980- spring 1982. Good times!! I also wish I’d graduated from there.

    One of my roommates was from GR. Her name was Barbie and she had a nervous breakdown our 2nd year. Poor girl was an emotional basket case.

  11. I know that this is way out there, but did you ever read the book entitled, “The Michigan Murders?” One or more of the women murdered were from CMU. I think this was back in the 1960s/70s, but maybe that’s what made Barbie lose it. One of the victim’s nieces wrote an interesting book about her relationship with the aunt she never knew and how this event impacted her family. It’s entitled, “Jane: A Murder” by Maggie Nelson. I might just have to write a post on those books.

  12. That’s fascinating! I will have to find that book! Pretty sure that had nothing to do with my roommate’s breakdown, though. She had an eating disorder and took a lot of speed and tried to kill herself because her high school boyfriend broke up with her.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

