Booking Through Thursday (BTT) ~ Manual Labor

May 8, 2008 at 10:27 am | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been seeing these a lot lately, so I’ve decided to join some of my favorite book blogging buddies.

btt button

Writing guides, grammar books, punctuation how-tos . . . do you read them? Not read them? How many writing books, grammar books, dictionaries–if any–do you have in your library?

There is a part of me that longs to write a novel.  I wrote my first short story in the second grade and I still proudly remember how my mother typed it up – exactly how I spelled everything (I remember because being spelled incorrectly – but I can’t remember how).  It was about a lazy cat who almost gets kicked out of the family for not catching mice before he becomes the cat he ought to be.  I read it in front of my class.  So, I do have several how-to writing guides.  I get suckered into them and never get further than about 50 pages.  There is one exception.  Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott is incredible.

As a (now former) technical writer, I have bought several manuals of style, etc., that I’ve read at least part of for work.  There is one grammar-related book that I’ve bought and am about a third of the way through that is absolutely fabulous and hilarious – and yes, it’s about grammar – Eats, Shoots, and Leaves by Lynne Truss.  I’m rather behind the curve on this one as it was published a while back now.  The good thing is that you can purchase it relatively cheaply at this point.  I would highly recommend it thus far.  I can’t imagine how the author would critique my blog…  Scary.  I know I don’t meet her standards. 🙂

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay! I’m one of your favorite book blogging buddies!

  2. I have got to read Eats, Shoots & Leaves. Love the name of your blog. I’m one too 🙂

  3. Love the story behind your first story…too cute!

  4. Do you still have that story?!

    My BTT post!

  5. Dev – You know you are!!! 🙂

    Chris – thanks so much! I’ve registered Literatehousewife.com and am planning on making the graphics pictures of housewives in the midst of cleaning while reading a book. I hope I can find someone to work with on that. I just need someone with the vision…

    Deb and Gautami, my mother gave me the typed out sheet at some point and I have no idea where it is. Someday I’m going to find it in an unexpected place. If I do find it, I’ll be sure to post it.

  6. I want to read the cat story too!

  7. I’ve only read a little of Eats, Shoots and Leaves and though it’s funny I also found it intimidating! I don’t think I would write anything if I was worrying too much about my grammar.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

