Up and Coming Literate Housedaughter

May 9, 2008 at 4:16 pm | Posted in Family, LIfe, Reading | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

I don’t usually post about my children, but today I cannot help it.  My oldest daughter, Emma, took her kindergarten assessment test this morning and my heart is just gushing with pride.  She recognized 9 out of 10 rhyming words, knew all of her uppercase letters and 23 of her lower case letters.  After being read simple sentences, she was able to correctly identify words such as “rain” in sentence each time.  She knew her shapes and could demonstrate 4 out of 10, 6 out of 10, and 9 out of 10.  By the end of kindergarten, they want students to score a 24 in regard to their ability to conceptualize words.  Today Emma scored 12.  The Assistant Principle said, “I wouldn’t be at all surprised if she started reading over the summer.”  Did I mention that my heart is bursting with pride?  My eyes are brimming with tears just writing this post.  I cannot wait to be reading along with my daughters.

On top of all this, Emma brought home this card that she made in school for Mother’s Day:

Card Emma made for me

What makes it so special to me was the inside (highlighted below):

note from Emma

Does she know me or what?  I also like my beauty being compared to a butterfly, but that has nothing to do with this blog… 😉

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers out there!!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A literate housedaughter AND an artist! That is pretty awesome that she recognized your reading and that she may be reading soon herself! Yay for kids reading!

  2. My daughter did the same “form” last year for Mother’s Day, but I was “pretty as a monkey” — I’m glad you fared better!

  3. But think of monkeys from your daughter’s point of view – they are cute and lovable. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

