Literary Souvenirs

May 21, 2008 at 11:13 am | Posted in Books, LIfe, My Life with Books | 10 Comments
Tags: , ,

In addition to all of the fun, yet cheesy, attractions to be found in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, there were outlet malls.  In those outlets malls were bookstores.  Yeah!  I got to spend some time there mainly uninterupted by my girls.  They were mostly remainders, but they were cheap and nothing that I would necessarily want to add to my permanent collection.  This is what I bought:

Books I have been on the lookout for:

  • The Twentieth Wife by Indu SUndaresan
  • Waiting by Ha Jin
  • We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver  ~ especially given our recent discussions about Jodi Picoult

Books that might be crap, but I could not pass up:

  • Transmission by Hari Kunzru
  • Claire Marvel by John Burnham Schwartz
  • Good Faith by Jane Smiley
  • The Children’s War by Monique Charlesworth
  • The Impressionist by Hari Kunzru
  • Will by Grace Tiffany
  • The Forsythe Saga by John Galsworthy ~ a huge epic novel – it’s always good to have one of these on hand, even if it is pure cheese
  • All is Vanity by Christina Schwarz  ~ I’ve read and pretty much enjoyed Drowning Ruth
  • i am no one you know by Joyce Carol Oates ~ I’ve always wanted to get into JCO, but haven’t been able to.  Since these are short stories, I thought it might work for me – if not, it only cost me a dollar

Books found and suggested by my husband:

  • State of Fear by Michael Crichton
  • Tooth and Claw by T.C. Boyle
  • A Love Like No Other edited by Pamela Kruger ~ this is a collection of stories written by adoptive parents – I’m really eager to dive into it

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I too have got The Forsyte Saga sitting unread on my shelf, so I can’t shed any wisdom on whether it’s crap or not… but even if it is, the miniseries based on it is quite good and worth a watch, if you’re a fan of slightly soapy British costume dramas.

  2. I’ve not read any of those, so I can’t help either, but isn’t it fun to come home with more books than you left with?

    I got an email yesterday telling me that Half Price Books is having a memorial day weekend sale with everything 20% off. I MAY have convinced Brian that, even though I have more unread books than I can read in a year and keep getting more to review, we need to go because the discount is just THAT good.

  3. I love a good soap opera, no matter what form it takes. Hopefully that’s what The Forsythe Saga will be! 🙂

    Dev, you will condition your fiance soon enough. I mentioned only once that I wanted to go to the first book store and Danny asked me twice after if I wanted to go. 🙂

  4. Oh my lord! There are so many pages to your blog and so many different categories that I just might be up ALL NIGHT LONG TONIGHT! I will blame you tomorrow morning when my kids are desperately trying to shake me awake crying “Mommy, we’re hungry!” LOL!

    Your blog rocks! Don’t even start pointing me to the other bloggers who review books. Or, I may never leave my laptop again. Children, raise your selves! Ha ha!

    Carrie Ann

  5. I was in the process of responding and my computer died… There are so many good book blogs out there. I have only just brushed the surface myself. Just stay away from the links on the right hand side… Before long, you’ll probably have your own book blog. It’s terribly catchy! 🙂

    I am so thrilled that you enjoy my blog!!!!

  6. Make sure to tell me the MINUTE you finish We Need to Talk About Kevin!!! That is a book just begging to be discussed. I reviewed it last fall but I still think about that book quite a lot. It’s disturbing (to say the least!). Waiting was a really interesting book, although I read it so many years ago I’d have to look it over again to talk about it in any detail.

    You definitely hit the jackpot on this trip!!

  7. I definitely will let you know when I’ve finished it. So many people feel it’s better than Nineteen Minutes. Now, let’s see how I do tomorrow. The local city library is having its annual sale. I can’t wait to get there. I would have been there already this weekend, but we bought new bedroom furniture for ourselves (I haven’t had a headboard since we bought our king sized mattresses 5 1/2 years ago) and bunk beds for girls. This has required cleaning, etc… After everything is delivered tomorrow, I’m outta here! 🙂

  8. […] bought quite a few books at two different discount book stores.  I posted about the books I bought here.  I’ve read and reviewed one of those books and hope to read more of them later on this […]

  9. […] Literary Souvenirs « The Literate Housewife Review Related books: […]

  10. […] bought quite a few books at two different discount book stores.  I posted about the books I bought here.  I’ve read and reviewed one of those books and hope to read more of them later on this […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.