My Inner Archaeologist

May 27, 2008 at 4:16 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

When I was in the 7th grade I decided that I wanted to be an archaeologist.  I cannot remember for the life of me what it was that triggered my interest in this adventurous and unusual career.  In the 8th grade my middle school offered a week long camp and one of the activities was archeology.  I still have the box full of “treasures” I discovered in a Michigan park.  I would have won an award for my archeological talents except for one flaw: I was too impatient.  I kept moving from square to square when I wasn’t finding anything.  For those of you who know me, this won’t come as a surprise at all.  Patience in the face of upcoming surprises, both known and unknown, is not my strong suit.

I never did pursue a career in archeology.  Just as with patience, math and science are not my strengths.  Also, I have a weak stomach.  After watching my first Indiana Jones movie, I was ready to retire to the calmer pastures of Political Science and English.  Still, I enjoy reading about archeology and what modern archaeologists are up to.  I don’t know if you caught the news that an archaeologist believes he has located Cleopatra’s tomb over the holiday weekend.  The timing of the publication of this article is perfect given that it coincided with the premier of the new Indiana Jones movie.  I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I can’t wait!  I hope that you liked it if you’ve seen it.  Let me know!

The timing of this archaeological find was also perfect for Michelle Moran, the author of Nefertiti.  She is getting ready to publish The Heretic Queen, a sequel to Nefertiti in September.  I haven’t read Nefertiti yet, but it’s on my list and just came out in paperback this week.

Cover of the Heretic Queen

In preparation for The Heretic Queen, Michelle has a really fun contest based upon the hieroglyphics used for the book cover.  Click here.  If you correctly translate the hieroglyphics, you might be one of two lucky people to win a 14 kt gold Nefertiti pendant, some Nefertiti chocolates, and a signed book!  I really had fun with this contest and I think you will, too.

So, get into the spirit of your inner archaeologist and enter this contest.  If you win – and I promise I won’t be (too) bitter if you do and I don’t – please let me know.  I’m dying to find out about those chocolates.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Brian and I went and saw both Indiana Jones and Prince Caspian on Friday night. Prince Caspian was by FAR the better movie, in both of our opinions. We both adore the Indiana Jones trilogy, but were less than thrilled with this new movie. It was sort of strange, and not very well written. If you love Indiana Jones, you still sort of have to go and see it, but perhaps try for matinée prices…

  2. Thank you very much for your advice. I’m always in for the matinée, even if I know the movie is going to rock. Danny and I, because we chose the matinée and/or because of the ignorance of other movie-goers, got to see Julie Tamor’s Titus in a huge stadium theater BY OURSELVES!!!!! I doubt that could ever happen with Indiana Jones, but going early sometimes has its rewards. 🙂

    What did you think of Cate Blanchett?

  3. Not her best work, but a large part of that was because the writing was especially terrible for her character. Whenever she was onscreen I felt like I was watching “Rocky and Bullwinkle.”

  4. Boo!!!! I was hoping for a more serious dominatrix type of role. Still, I must see this movie. I haven’t watched the first Narnia movie yet. I need to watch that series, too. And then there’s Harry Potter… I have people breathing down my neck to read those books and to watch those movies. I just don’t have the time. I would make the time if I was more interested in them, but I just can’t feel excited about them…

  5. I originally had no interest in the Harry Potter books. My mom and sister were reading them and I thought they sounded really stupid. Then I finished the book I was reading and picked up the first one (I was having a biblio-emergency, what can I say?) and got addicted.

  6. I was bitten by the archaeology bug in middle school too! I love hearing stories about how people got into it. And I’m always glad to hear about people who didn’t pursue it in school who are at least still interested in the field.

    Moran’s books sound like they’d be right up my alley, I’ll have to give them a try.

  7. Pam, I will have to dig up my Michigan “artifacts” and take pictures of them. My most favorite item was a carved bear. It is missing it’s arms, but it must have been a child’s toy. I don’t know how that stuff got there – if it really did have things or if they were planted. I don’t remember the earth seeming to have been disturbed recently. I wonder if I could get in touch with one of my old middle school teachers and ask.

    Please let me know what you think of her contest. I thought it was a lot of fun because some of the symbols could be used for more than one letter. I LOVE puzzles.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

