Book Awards Challenge II ~ 10 Chosen Books

May 28, 2008 at 10:32 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Book Awards Challenge II Poster

After careful consideration, I was able to come up with my 10 books for the Book Awards Challenge II. There were a couple of things I thought about when I made my choices. I already own enough books (for now). I didn’t want to be compelled to buy any more. So, as I was reading through the lists of award winning books, I took into consideration whether I owned the book already. If not, I considered the book if I felt pretty confident that I could rent it from the library. Another thing I took into consideration is whether the book was on the list of the top 106 unread books on LibraryThing.

Here are my choices:

  1. 1. The Wheel on the School by Meindert DeJong: This book won the Newberry Award in 1955. I chose this because I had just been writing about how much I remember loving it as a child, even though I can’t really recall what it was about (outside of the obvious indicated by the title). I do not own this book, but I know it’s at the library. As a side note, I would like to find a copy of this book from the 70s. If I ever own this book again, I want it to have the picture I still have in my head from childhood.
  2. 2. Water for Elephants by Gruen, Sara: I have this novel and have been planning on reading it since the beginning of the year. It won the 2007 BookBrowse award for most popular book. Enough already. I need to stop procrastinating and read this novel.
  3. 3. Waiting by Ha Jin: I just picked up this novel while on vacation. What perfect timing! It received the 1999 National Book Award. I can’t wait to start this one.
  4. 4. Jonathan Strange & M. Norrell by Susanna Clark: This novel is somewhat of a leap for me. I’ve really no idea if this is something that I will like or not. Since it’s on the Top 106 Unread Books on LibraryThing and it won the Hugo and World Fantasy Awards for Best novel in 2005. I can easily rent this one from the library and it’s good to take a leap of faith every so often, right?
  5. 5. The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields: I picked this book up at my company’s first and only book sale about three years ago. I’ve thought it sounded fascinating at the time, but I’ve never opened it. As well as being on the Top 106 Unread Books on LibraryThing list, it won the 1993 Governor General’s Award for English language fiction and the 1995 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.
  6. 6. A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole: After reading about this author’s tragic suicide, I had to pick this novel up a couple of months ago. It won the Pulitzer Price in 1981, 11 years after Toole’s death. It also made the Top 106 Unread Books on LibraryThing list.
  7. 7. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver: There has been much commenting here about this book and when I found it for $1 on vacation, I picked it up. It won the 2005 Orange Award. I know that there are many people who would like to discuss this novel, so it should be interesting.
  8. 8. The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai: Kiran Desai graduated from Hollins University, where I earned my Master’s Degree. I heard about this novel when it was mentioned in the alumni magazine. I picked it up immediately and planned to read it after The Namesake. I needed something much less heavy after that, so I changed my plans. Unfortunately, I never went back to this book. It won the Man Booker Prize for 2006 as well as the National Book Critics Circle Fiction Award in 2007.
  9. 9. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy: I bought this book along with two other books during one of Barnes & Nobles’ buy two get one free promotion. I have a sneaking suspicion that I read this book for my first Master’s Thesis project. I could be wrong. If I have, I really liked it. We’ll see. It won the 1997 Man Booker Prize.
  10. 10. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood: I’ve had this book for a while now. I’ve tried to start reading it on at least three separate occasions, but it never worked out. Usually that’s not a good sign, but I’m still interested in giving this novel a try. It’s on the Top 106 Unread Books on LibraryThing list and it won the Man Booker Prize in 2000 and the Hammett Prize in 2001.

That is 10 books from at least five different awards. My last three choices all won the Man Booker Prize, but two of them also won other awards, so I think that should be okay. If not, there are plenty of other novels from which I can choose.

I’m excited to get started and kill three birds with one stone: complete this challenge, read several unread selections from the Top 106 Unread LibraryThing books list, and, since I own all but two of the books, make a dent in my ever-growing TBR pile.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like you have a great list there…looking forward to the reviews. I have # 4 on my list too

  2. god of small things is unbelievably good. i can’t wait to read what you think of it. and there are so many others on your list i want to read, i’ll be anxiously awaiting your reviews 😉

  3. I almost want to do this challenge JUST for the fun graphic….

  4. Just stopping by to let you know that I received “The Lady and the Unicorn” today. Thanks again, I can’t wait to read it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

