May Retrospective

June 1, 2008 at 11:10 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

This is a brilliant idea I’ve stolen from Devourer of Books. In May I read nine books, which actually surprises me. I don’t feel like I’m reading that many. This monthly retrospective will definitely help me keep tabs on that. A lot can happen while you’re not paying attention.

Two of the books I read this month were ARCs – one from the publisher and one was an Early Reviewers snag from LibraryThing. Five were non-fiction. Of those, two were memoirs. Only one was historical fiction.

Note: The titles of the books link to my reviews.

My Reading Wrap-Up for May

Fiction (General)

Love Marriage by V.V. Ganeshananthan

Trauma by Patrick McGrath

Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan

Historical Fiction

The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir

Memoir

Trespassers will be Baptized by Elizabeth Emerson Hancock (review coming)

Love is a Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield

Nonfiction

Mistaken Identity by the Van Ryn and Cerak families with Mark Tabb

Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss

A Love Like No Other: Stories from Adoptive Parents edited by Pamela Kruger and Jill Smolowe (review coming)

Top Pick for the Month

Cover to Love is a Mix Tape

Love is a Mix Tape is my pick of the month because of the overall experience of reading the book and discovering a small part of my husband’s past. It really brought my reading life and my home life together in a fun way. Danny and I had a great time looking through his old pictures to find Renee Crist and enjoyed the process of digitizing his cassette copy of “Talk about the Clampetts.” However, in the process of writing this, I discovered a misplaced apostrophe in my review of Love is a Mix Tape, which reminds me of how much I loved reading Eats, Shoots & Leaves. That book is a close second.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can’t remember if I stole this idea from Maw Books or if it seemed to me to flow naturally out of the other idea I stole from her.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

