Got Old, Unwanted Hardcovers?

June 2, 2008 at 11:18 am | Posted in Books, LIfe | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

stack of old hardcover books

Do you have any old hardcover books that you no longer want?  Maybe you have bought something like this from from a library book sale or yard sale, read it, and don’t want to keep it.  If you do, I might have an environmentally friendly and perhaps chic option besides sending them to Goodwill: you can make yourself a purse!  The link is from today’s How To list link of the day through iGoogle.  If you make the purse as suggested and recycle the pages, you’ve got helped keep a book out of a landfill and have a permanent reminder of your reading experience.

I actually have some fun fabric hanging around and I’m planning on making one at some point this month.  When I do, I’ll post my results.  If you get a chance to make one yourself, send me a picture and I’ll post it with a link to your blog (if you have one).  If I get enough entries, I just might make a contest out of it.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Okay, time out. Seriously??? This sounds awesome. I’m going to have to go and hunt for a good hard cover to do this with. Crazy.

  2. I am going to try this. I might even do it while I’m in Las Vegas next week. If you want to wait until after I’ve made my attempt, that would be fine. I know I have plenty of old hardcovers that I could care less about. And since I love to do crafty things, this is right up my alley. 🙂

  3. I’m definitely going to wait until you do it so you can point me to the difficult parts and tell me how to get around them. I also have a very crafty quilting book-loving friend in my office. I sent her to your post and I think she’s going to try it as well. I figure she can be my close-by trouble shooter.

  4. Very clever. I don’t think I’m crafty enough to pull this one off. I’d love to see pictures though if you do one.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

