Tuesday Thingers ~ 6/3

June 3, 2008 at 11:15 am | Posted in LibraryThing, LIfe | 9 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today’s Tuesday Thingers question is: Why LT?

Why did you choose to open and maintain an LT account? Do you/did you use other online cataloging/social networking sites, like GoodReads or Shelfari? Do you use more than one? Are they different or do they serve different purposes?

I looked into LibraryThing after a friend’s daughter told me about it. I’m not a big researcher when it comes to these types of things. I jump right in. That being said, I’m not likely to dig too far into anything unless I know to look for it – which is bad. Tuesday Thingers is a case in point. I belong to the Early Reviewers group, but I had no idea about the bloggers getting together until I heard about it from Devourer of Books.

With social networking, I’m pretty much a follower. I have a MySpace account (which I rarely touch anymore) and a Facebook account. I didn’t join either until persuaded by my family or friends. Even though I use Facebook more frequently, there’s a lot of things you can do that I’m oblivious to. It’s pretty much a way to send messages back and forth for me.

This is a really good question for me this week. I’ve been meaning to do more digging into what LT is and can be for me. I need to spend more time reading up on all of the site’s features. I promise to report back a the end of my post next week about one aspect of LT that I’ve discovered and have started using.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hey that’s a great idea for an Tuesday Thingers question- one feature of LT you really like or just discovered. do you mind if I use that? 🙂 Thanks for participating! 🙂

  2. Marie, go ahead and use it!!! I really need all the motivation I can get – and everyone’s posts will only expand LT knowledge throughout the group.

  3. Yay, I’m glad we will interact on LT (other than profile comments) as well as on here. I got “Gardens of Water” today, by the way.

  4. I really hope that you enjoy GOW. Definitely my favorite Early Reviewer snag thus far.

  5. I have a facebook account to…but for the life of me I don’t understand it…lol!

  6. I’m much the same – I find one great website, I don’t usually poke around to see if others are even better unless someone tells me to. I’m glad LT was the first place I found for book cataloging because it is already so terrific.

  7. There’s a lot of useful features which aren’t always obvious at first — and that you might not even think to ask about. For example, I keep pointing people at PalmThing, the application a Thinger wrote to let people easily import their catalogue onto a Palm PDA.

  8. Facebook has 5,000,000 features that my college aged cousins seem to use all the time. It’s nuts.

    LibraryThing is awesome!!!! I need to figure out how to add my Currently Reading list to the blog. That’s going to be my assignment for this week.

    Jules, I don’t have a Palm Pilot, but what you just said makes me wish I had one! I would never get any work done, though. I’d be messing around in my library too much. 🙂

  9. Lol I’m pretty much a follower too, but I’m glad I found LT!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

