I’ve Come a Long Way

June 5, 2008 at 4:04 pm | Posted in Books | 7 Comments

While reading Trespassers will be Baptized, I found a lot of similarities in the experience for me as a reader between that memoir and A Girl Named Zippy. So when I wrote my review for Trespassers will be Baptized, I linked back to my review of Haven Kimmel‘s memoir. A Girl Named Zippy was the first review I wrote for this blog, back when I had no plan for it other than to document my personal challenge to read 52 books in 2007. When I went back to link to it, I glanced through the review and immediately wanted to rewrite it. Although I can still see my personality coming through in what I wrote, but I would have written that review much differently – and hopefully better – today. Looking back over the review really pointed out my growth as well as changes in taste as a reviewer. I had not expected to get out of blogging, but what a great gift I’ve given myself. I now also have a means by which to judge my personal growth and progress. The best thing is that I am pleased with how far I’ve come.

I’m going to stifle my desire to go back and make changes to my earlier reviews. I’m not the same person or writer that I was then, but I honor that person and that writer. I couldn’t have made it here without her.

women jumping for joy

And that goes for all of you, too!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a fun exercise. Maybe in 6 months to a year I’ll look back at “Three Cups of Tea”.

  2. It really is a great bi-product of blogging that I wasn’t expecting.

  3. It’s funny, isn’t it? I started my blog just to keep track of what I’ve been reading, and my first couple of posts were dinky and basic. Then a couple of people wrote comments, and BAM, I was hooked! Now I sometimes spend a great deal of time writing some of my entries because I don’t want to disappoint my readers or myself.

    We should examine this further…

  4. Heh – I learned early on not to re-read what I’ve previously written. I almost always want to tinker!

  5. I cringe whenever I do read any of the early reviews – especially the reviews of books that I really loved! Oh well! You are right in that they do reflect who I was at that time, so I just won’t look at them too closely!

  6. I’ve thought about rewriting some of my earlier reviews, but also decided against it. Lol some of them are really blah.

  7. It definitely looks like I’m not alone in my reaction to want to go back and change. I’m in great company.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

