Tuesday Thingers ~ All About Tagging

June 10, 2008 at 8:14 am | Posted in Books | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Today’s question is about tags- do you tag? How do you tag? How do you feel about tagging- do you think it would be better to have standardized tags, like libraries have standardized subject headings, or do you like the individualized nature of tagging? What are your top 5 tags and what do they say about your collection or your reading habits?

I am most definitely a tagger.  My relationship with tags evolved around the same time I changed the standard way that I published my book reviews.  When I started this blog, I just named the posts with the number of the book I had read in 2007.  After a very long while a couple of things dawned on me: the number means absolutely nothing to anyone but me, and how in the world would anyone find a book I’ve reviewed with that system?  I still use the number in the post name, but I also include the book title.  Now, I also tag the book title and author’s name as well.  I want people to read my reviews, and I’m trying to make it as easy as possible for them to be found.  I think I’m doing a better job of that now.

One of the things that is so appealing to me about tags is that they are specific to the post.  With categories, once you add one, it’s always there to scroll through.  It’s just too much.  Tags provide me the freedom to use them as they fit into my current post.  I don’t really follow any standards with my tags although I may include some of them by default.  When I post my reviews on LibraryThing, I do include both my categories and my tags in the Tags field.

Based on my Tag Cloud, it looks like Books, Culture, Historical Fiction, Reading, and Secrets and Lies are my top 5 tags in LT.  This makes me think that I need to go in and remove all of my books and reading tags from there.  In LT that’s pretty darn redundant.  Those are more appropriate for my blog.  The Historical Fiction tag is there with good reason and shows my ever growing enjoyment of that genre.  Culture and Secrets and Lies are pretty generic and not very informative in and of themselves.  Hmmm…

Perhaps I need to do some rethinking of my tags.  How do you use yours?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m a definite tagger, too. But I’ve had to learn over time to be more specific and narrow them down, so they’re more useful. That’s true with my blog, as well as with my LT list. Of course, in Blogger we don’t really have the difference between tags and categories that you have in WordPress – I can see that might be helpful.

  2. I’m still trying to figure out where tags and I stand. I like the idea of putting the author’s name in the tag for easy reference. I’m getting lots of ideas reading these responses.

  3. I put the author’s name in tags but never thought of putting the title, something for me to think about.

  4. it’s interesting what happens with my thought process when i’m thinking about tags for LT- just for me- and tags for the blog, which need to be useful for others. and i think that may be why standardized tags for LT are unnecessary as long as people aren’t really sharing information across LT libraries. hmm. 🙂

  5. It’s really fascinating to read all these posts about tags. We all use them differently!

  6. I’m still working out the best way to use tags, both in LT and on my blog. I’ve come across lots of interesting ideas reading other people’s answers. On my blog I usually put the book title in the post title and not in the tag. I use the Search facility on my blog and in LT to find things – it usually works well.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

