Tuesday Thingers ~ Uniquely Mine

June 25, 2008 at 1:53 pm | Posted in Books | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Last week I asked what was the most popular book in your library- this week I’m going to ask about the most unpopular books you own. Do you have any unique books in your library- books only you have on LT? How many? Did you find cataloging information on your unique books, or did you hand-enter them? Do they fall into a particular category or categories, or are they a mix of different things? Have you ever looked at the “You and none other” feature on your statistics page, which shows books owned by only you and one other user? Ever made an LT friend by seeing what you share with only one other user?

I have cataloged three books that are uniquely mine so far as LibraryThing is concerned. The first is a book I purchased in Berlin that contains pictures of the Berlin Wall art before the wall came down. Since the Berlin Wall fell during my senior year of high school, I feel a connection to that event and that made me an easy sell for that book. 🙂 The other two books, Dragonmede by Rona Rondall and Henry VIII – A Study of Power in Action by John Bowle. I bought both of those books at a library book sale. I pick up a lot of older historical fiction and non-fiction about the Tudors that way. I’m wondering now if Dragonmede is any good… Maybe someday I’ll find out.

I find the You and No Other feature on LibraryThing the most interesting. I love that feature. I own a book of postcards from Grand Rapids through the years and only one other user owns that. I figure that this user must have some connection to my home town, but he or she never responded to my comment. That being said, I’ve made quite a few LT friends based upon more than one book in common and that’s the most important thing.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I still find it odd to be the sole owner of a book. Out of all those members it is hard to believe! Although, I see how that Berlin book could possibly be the only one 🙂

  2. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I hope you enjoy the Mysteries of Udolpho.

  3. it’s too bad that person didn’t respond but I think a lot of times people open accounts on LT and don’t always do a lot with them. i get a kick out of seeing who has what weird book of mine sometimes 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

