Getting with the Program

June 28, 2008 at 2:05 pm | Posted in LIfe | 14 Comments
Tags: ,

When I first started blogging and reading other people’s blogs, my friend Trista gave me a copy of her Bloglines.  I used it for a while, but it seemed to get out of hand for me.  I decided it was best to rely on bookmarks, sticky notes, history, and my memory to follow the blogs I read on a regular basis.  So, how was that working for me?  Not very well.  I would go to blogs I loved once a month and be all behind the times.  Then I had the brilliant idea to add links to this blog, figuring I would visit each once a day or once every other day at the most.  It sounded like a good idea, but other than not losing URLs, I haven’t been doing much better than before.

I still resisted creating subscriptions for one reason or another until I started having trouble getting to Devourer of Books’ blog.  The withdrawals are too much for me.  Today I’ve broken down and set up Google Reader.  I’m looking forward for keeping up much better with everyone’s blogs from now on!  Now, if I could only leave comments…

________________________

I see that today is Devourer of Books’ read-a-thon day.  Go Jen!  I’ll be sending my money in the mail on Monday.  I think it’s great that you’re supporting RIF.  I just wish I could leave a comment on your blog!

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it still not working for you? At least some people seem to be able to find it for the read-athon today. How odd!

  2. I’m a happy Google Reader user…. but I have mine set to just show the headlines, and if it looks interesting enough, I still open the real site… so its just a notification service and I still have the old “surfing” feeling and the ability to leave comments. Just my two cents.

  3. I finally got your site to work in Firefox and I couldn’t be more happy about that!

    That’s a really good suggestion, Mark! Your two cents are always welcome here. 🙂

  4. I use Google Reader, but unlike Mark, I keep mine open for the whole post or summary, depending on how people have theirs set up. That way, I can skim and see if there’s anything interesting. Sometimes the headlines aren’t very descriptive.For example, if someone is writing about the Read-a-thon (in which I’m not participating, but may comment on something someone is reading anyway), if that person puts up a headline, “Read-a-thon Hour 5,” I wouldn’t know if there was anything that interested me or not. However, if I skimmed through their post, I might see something that caught my eye. Same goes for your post: headline: Getting with the Program. Not sure if I’d be interested or not, but see what you’ve written, and suddenly I feel compelled to comment (and it seems ad nauseam, huh?)

    Anyway, I have close to 100 book blogs in my reader, but am still able to keep up with it…even yours, which I just recently added.

  5. I have hundreds of feeds into my bloglines account and couldn’t live without it – well, I could, but I couldn’t visit blogs without it. I used to just visit the blogs that I had in my blogroll but in the end it was such a time waste because I would be visiting blogs of people morning and night, but then they would only be updating once a week. With a reader, at least I only get a notification when they have posted and then I visit if I am interested to read though.

  6. When I started my blog I also set up with Bloglines – I don’t know how I would keep up to date without it. I am constantly surprised at bloggers that can read several books a week as well as find time to blog almost every day – amazing.

  7. I also use google reader. and um, bewared! I read 30 blogs before I started and at last count had over 300 feeds I was subscribed to. It will suck up your time. 🙂

  8. oops, meant to say beware! I am also doing the readathon and getting a bit tired!

  9. I am in the same boat, I have been thinking of setting up Google Reader also because I cannot keep up. There are so many great blogs out there and I always manage to forget about them. Good luck, I hope it works for you!

  10. This girl is in love with Google Reader! Absolutely in love. And I see myself very soon being Amy’s boat.

  11. “The road to hell is paved with good intentions”… I too had been planning on visiting all my links everyday. But there’s just so many!! I have google reader but it seems like a pain to induvidually add everyone’s url. I guess I’ll end up having to though if I want to keep up!

  12. Blogs are definitely addicting–both reading them and writing them.

    I invite you to check out a couple of multi-author blogs you might enjoy. And if so, it would be great to see them included in your blogroll here. 🙂
    Criminal Minds at Work

    The Write Type ~ Multi-Author Musings

    and my own blog…
    The suspense is killing me!

    ~Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    suspense author

  13. You’ve got to love (and hate) Google reader! I’m addicted to reading blogs. And now I’ve added yours. Thanks for blogging.

  14. Yay for Google Reader!!! I seriously do not know how people can even attempt to blog without it. I’m a huge fan!! I think it’s easy to add the url’s, I do tons of searching from within the reader to see if my blogging friends have posted on a particular topic, I also share items that show up in my sidebar and I have a public feed for that. Here’s a tip as well: I add tags to various blogs so that they can stay seperated into different folders. My friends and families blogs go into one, people who comment on my blog in other, other book blogs that don’t know that I even exist into another, and blogging tips blogs into another. Well, you get the idea. It’s mighty helpful! I’m glad you’ve switched over!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

