June Retrospective

July 1, 2008 at 9:45 pm | Posted in Books | 3 Comments

This month I read seven books, which is two less than in May. I’m somewhat surprised by that since I had 5 nights away from home to read and about 10 hours worth of plane travel. Putting this together makes me re-consider my July Book Blowout commitment. I might need to up that by three or four.

All of the books I read this month were ARCs from the publisher or were sent to me directly by the author. Of the seven books, five were fiction and two were non-fiction (one memoir and one collection of personal essays). I didn’t get a chance to read any historical fiction this month and I’m missing it.

Most excitingly, I participated in my first blog tour this month! I look forward to participating in one of those again.

Note: The titles of the books link to my reviews.

My Reading Wrap-Up for June

Fiction (General)

Down to a Sunless Sea by Mathias B. Freese

Songs for the Missing by Stewart O’Nan

Matrimony by Joshua Henkin

Mrs. Lieutenant by Phyllis Zimbler Miller

Escape by Robert K. Tanenbaum  * Review Coming Soon *

Memoir

Admit One by Emmett James  * Review Coming Soon *

Nonfiction

Have I Got a Guy For You edited by Alix Strauss

Top Pick for the Month

Cover for Songs for the Missing

Hands down, Songs for the Missing was my favorite book during the month of June.  The novel had an interesting storyline and human characters.  The changing narrators provided many layers upon which to ponder the fate of Kim and her family, friends, and small Midwestern hometown.  I highly recommend both this novel and it’s author, Stewart O’Nan.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Seven books in a month still seems like a lot to me! I have seen several positive reviews on Songs for the Missing, so I think I’ll be adding it to my list!

  2. I have Songs for the Missing on my ARC shelf…I guess I should read it soon, you all loved it!

    You got a really good amount of reading done in June, great job!

  3. Laura and Bethany – thanks so much for your encouragement. It’s always easy to feel like you don’t read enough.

    Songs for the Missing was incredible. You won’t be disappointed.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

