BTT ~ Literary Doomsday

July 10, 2008 at 9:28 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, Reading | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

btt button One of my favorite bookstores burned down last weekend, and while I only got to visit there while I was on vacation, it made me stop and think.

What would you do if, all of a sudden, your favorite source of books was unavailable?

Whether it’s a local book shop, your town library, or an internet shop … what would you do if, suddenly, they were out of business? Devastatingly, and with no warning? Where would you go for books instead? What would you do? If it was a local business you would try to help out the owners? Would you just calmly start buying from some other store? Visit the library in the next town instead? Would it be devastating? Or just a blip in your reading habit?

I hate to say it, but if my favorite book shop were to go out of business suddenly it would probably be doing me a favor. I have so many potentially great books waiting to be read here at home that I could get along quite fine without another single source of new material for some time – years in fact.

In all seriousness, I’m really sorry to hear about the fire. I’m not attached to any one book shop, brick or mortar or otherwise. If I were, I know how devastating that would be. I’m sure that the store was more than just a place to find new books.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m the same way. If my library and/or local bookstore were closed, it would help me finish books I’ve had on my TBR shelf for years.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

