Win a Copy of The i Tetralogy!

July 17, 2008 at 8:22 am | Posted in Books | 11 Comments

After I posted my review yesterday, Mathias B. Freese has generously offered to provide an autographed copy of The i Tetralogy to one of my lucky readers.  I am happy to host a contest.

If you would like the opportunity to win a copy of this novel, please leave a comment here.  In your comment, please list a book about either the Holocaust or WWII that you would recommend and why.  I would like to compile a list of great books about this topic.

If you would like two additional entries in this contest, please link to it on your blog and let me know about it.

I will be holding the drawing on Wednesday, July 23 at 5pm.  Good luck everyone!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The only books to come to mind (after Diary of Anne Frank – a given?) is The Reader by Bernard Schlink. I was riveted by this story; I read it in one sitting which is not my MO. AND, the fact that I remember the author AND how to spell speaks volumes (at least to me.) I also enjoyed Viktor Frankel’s Man’s Search for Meaning. If ‘enjoyed’ can be the correct word… fascinating and profound.

    Please enter me to win this book. I enjoyed your review and all the comments.

  2. I’d love to win this book. I blogged about your contest here:

    http://blog.literarily.com/2008/07/17/giveaway-at-the-literate-housewife.aspx

    My recommendations:
    1. The Nazi Officer’s Wife by Edith Hahn Beer: A true story that reads like fiction about a Jewish woman who survived the Holocaust by marrying a Nazi officer and concealing her Jewish identity from him. Fascinating!

    2. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry: A young adult novel and Newbery Medal winner about how the people of Denmark helped Jews escape the Nazis.

    3. A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell: An aspect of WWII I didn’t know about – the Italian resistance to Nazi Germany and how the Italian people risked their lives to hide Jewish people.

  3. I’ve read several really good reviews of this book and I would definitely be interested in reading it. Since I’m early in the comments, I’ll take an obvious choice: Schindler’s List, by Steven Zaillian. I found it interesting in the way it depicted the lives of non-Jews and the way that they were effected by the Holocaust, and their motivation to take risks to stop it, especially since that seemed so out of character for Schindler.

  4. Don’t enter me, b/c I have way too many books to read… but books re the Holocaust that I’d rec:

    “Number the Stars”, “The Summer of My German Soldier”, “Victor Kugler”… I know there are more, I just can’t think of them right now.

  5. Your review made me not want to pass up on this giveaway! This book sounds incredible. My favorite book on the Holocaust is The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom because of her remarkable faith.

  6. One of my favorites is a picture book called “The Harmonica” by Tony Johnston. It is based on a true story of a boy who’s life was saved by his harmonica playing. He received bread in exchange for playing Schubert and also gave hope to the entire camp. It is not a fun picture book and it is hard to read aloud, but my most hard hearted 5th graders are in silence by the end.
    Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli is another favorite. Middle school age and up, for sure.

  7. Ok, this sounds like an amazing book to read. I would recommend The Book Thief by Zusak. AMAZING read. Narrated by Death…a very different view. I think all should read it. So, I hope I win this book!!

  8. The Diary of Anne Frank is kinda a cliche answer, but I really do feel everyone should read it.

    I’m in the middle of “Suite Francaise” by Irene Nemirovsky, a pair of novels about the occupation of France. It has been excellent so far, and is made all the more poignant by the fact that it was left unfinished (she intended it to be a collection of three novels) when Nemirovsky was arrested and deported to Auschwitz, where she died.

  9. I have never read The Diary of Anne Frank and I’m not quite sure how I ever got out of school without it. It’s definitely one for the list.

  10. […] Literate Housewife has an autographed copy of The i Tetralogy by Mathias B. Freese, deadline 23 […]

  11. […] miss out on my current free book giveaway ~ a copy of The i Tetralogy signed by the author, Mathias B. Freese. There’s only a few days […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

