July Book Blowout ~ Update Day 20

July 20, 2008 at 2:20 pm | Posted in Books | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,


Don’t miss out on my current free book giveaway ~ a copy of The i Tetralogy signed by the author, Mathias B. Freese. There’s only a few days left!


Last night I finished The Gargoyle, so I’m officially half way though the number of books I’ve challenged myself to read. I thought Andrew Davidson’s book was inspired and wonderful, but it was so intense in parts that I had trouble reading it. In fact, I had anxiety dream after anxiety dream last night. I think the combination of The i Tetralogy, things going on at my nine-to-five, and the subject matter of The Gargoyle has really just been too much in such a short period of time. I tried to start my next book, Sweetsmoke by David Miller. It looks like a wonderful book. It is the story of a slave who investigates the death of another slave during the Civil War. It’s no slight to the book, but I couldn’t make it past page two. I need a break from anything remotely serious.

If this were a normal month and I wasn’t taking part in this challenge, I would just hold off for a couple days and start Sweetsmoke again. I try to be as fair with my ARCs as I can by reading them in the order in which they were received. I can’t do that and still have a shot at completing my challenge. So, I pulled a chick lit book out of my ARC pile, 37 by Maria Beaumont. A few pages in and I think it’s just what I need without abandoning my ARC pile altogether.

It’s been a while since I’ve been this burnt out on books, so I don’t think it will work very well to dive back into a book dealing with slavery after 37. Instead, I’m planning on following Beaumont’s book up with The Four Seasons by Laurel Corona. It’s also in my ARC pile and some good historical fiction should be wonderful. After that, I’ll gage how I feel. Other than Sweetsmoke, my remaining ARCs are non-fiction and deal with the injustice of fatally incompetent mothers with full custody of their children, suicide, and growing up in an orphanage. There’s a whole lot of serious going on.

Literate Housewife’s Official Challenge Tally

5/10 books complete ~ 4/5 reviews posted

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Can’t wait to hear how you liked The Gargoyle . I hope you found that it lived up to all the hype…I was certainly not disappointed.

  2. I’m hoping to be able to write this up tonight. It really did live up to all of the hype. I can’t remember who said this book made her not want to meet any new characters, but it’s that good.

  3. Lol okay I’m finally getting around to catching up on entries I missed while on vacation, so… here’s the first of I’m sure a bunch of comments 🙂

    I look forward to hearing what you thought of ‘sweetsmoke’ and of ’37’. I’ve never read either and they both sound like they have potential, even with their extreme opposites.

  4. Welcome back! I love your comments, so the more the merrier! I enjoyed both Sweetsmoke (posted just today) and 37 (posted last week).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

