Tuesday Thingers ~ Weekly Memes

August 5, 2008 at 6:48 am | Posted in LIfe, Reading | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today’s question is only marginally about LibraryThing but I thought it might be a fun question anyway. It’s more about blogging. Everyone who participates in Tuesday Thingers has a blog- some have a book blog, some have several, some have blogs that are more personal, etc.- and we’ve all chosen to participate in this particular way of networking to build traffic, get to know each other, etc. So my question is: what other weekly memes or round robins do you participate in? Is this the only one? Why Tuesday Thingers and not some other weekly Tuesday meme? Or do you do more than one?

Also, if you feel like you don’t have enough memes, you can visit The Daily Meme for even more blogging options for different days of the week. I know- like you don’t have enough to do! 🙂

I owe the fact that I participate in any memes whatsoever to Devourer of Books. When she started her blog she contacted me and I’ve been a faithful reader ever since. After several weeks of her responses to Booking Through Thursday, I was hooked and had to jump on the bandwagon. Again, when she was involved with the Early Reviewers’ Blogging connections from the beginning, I knew nothing about it until she blogged about it. She is always on the cutting edge and I’m a follower pure and simple. 🙂 I keep reading everyone’s Sunday Salon posts each week, but I’m still a little leary of taking on three weekly memes. I’m sure that I will eventually jump in because the water’s so warm.

I’ve had a lot of fun participating in these memes (mostly) each week. My only difficulty is writing the post early enough in the day. If I don’t get it done before work, my days are so unpredictable that it might be the end of the work day or later before I can post. Oh well. i’m also more able to comment on other participant’s answers after work. I hate having people comment on mine and not be able to reciprocate until much later in the day. I don’t know if that upsets people or not. I’ve noticed that I’m not the only one who posts their meme later in the day, but does anyone else have that problem with leaving comments?

The best thing about all of these memes is meeting new bloggers and readers. Whenever someone new visits my blog and they are a blogger, I add them to my Google Reader. It’s a great way to find people and content. I just love that.

What about your memes?

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think that you should definitely do Sunday Salon, it is really only sort of a meme. That is my favorite one because you can write about anything you want, there is no prompt. The only thing is that it should be (more or less) related to reading. Plus, it contributes a lot of traffic.

  2. Quite a few Sunday Saloners get their posts up late in the day – I know I do. That way, I’ve had time to actually do some reading to write about. So you shouldn’t worry about a late post. Also, I usually end up reading most of the entries on the Monday after – there are just too many to get to them all on Sunday.

  3. I don’t mind people commenting later just as long as they comment. I usually answer early in the day because my blog is not web based so I can’t blog from work. But it is nice that layer on in the evening everyone visits en masse.

    I have a feeling that day time commenting will pick up once kids go back to school.

  4. Don’t worry, I’m a follower too! I joined the LT blog ring, saw what other memes most people were doing, and joined them too.

    As for the Sunday Salon, that’s the easiest of all the memes to participate in! It’s fun for me to write about what I’m reading and test out some of my ideas before I go to write an official review. And I like to see what everyone else is reading. I wouldn’t worry about posting late, I normally post a bit later in the day because I like to think about what I’m going to write.

  5. Jennifer – I’m another who always posts my memes very late in the day. I feel like I’m always the last one, in fact.

    Don’t worry about not responding to comments right away. It’s okay to have a life outside the blogosphere, girl 🙂 My rule of thumb is to reply within 24 hours to comments, but I really don’t mind how long someone takes replying to my comments!

  6. Hey Jen,

    I actually just recently discovered your blog. Yay for moi!

    I agree with the other posters – it doesn’t matter when folks actually post. I find that I get Sunday Salon visitors all week long. Some comment and some don’t. Plus, if I can’t get to as many other Sunday blog posts on Sunday, it’s a nice thing to do mid-week.

    Cheers,

    Karen

  7. Hey, thanks for the heads-up about the Daily Meme site. It’s pretty nifty!

    I’m supposed to be doing “Weekly Geeks” from Dewey’s site (The Hidden Side of a Leaf) and “Booking Through Thursday” but I haven’t done them in ages! The Sunday Salon is on Sunday, and I don’t do Sundays, so that’s out.

    There just isn’t enough time!

  8. Thanks everybody! I am going to have to join the Sunday Salon. That’s all there is to it. I can’t wait to read all of your posts tonight!
    __
    Karen, I didn’t know you had a blog, either! Yay for moi, too! 🙂
    __
    Chartroose, I can understand the not doing Sundays thing. I wish my daughters didn’t do them either. 🙂
    I can’t take credit for the list of memes. That came from Marie at the Boston Bibliophile. I have no idea why it wouldn’t indent for me to show that, but I didn’t have time to fix it before work.

  9. I don’t really mind when people post their memes. As long as I know it’s up (like via the LT TT check in station, or marie’s post) then I’ll visit and comment.

    Honestly the only thing that bothers me about it is if I take the time to visit somebody else’s meme and comment, but they don’t the same. I know people are busy, but if a few days go by and still nada it kinda ticks me off a bit.

  10. Booking Through Thursdays was the first one I participated. It’s so thought-provoking and is book-related. I have recently joined Friday Fill-Ins, which is a lighter fare and fun to wrap up the work week. I’ve got a couple of my friends in Hong Kong (who write their blogs in Chinese) to participate now. Sometimes I pop in and make a post for Weekly Geek but like you say, I get leery committing to too many regular memes. Sunday Salon could very well be my next commitment.

    I’m not very good at reciprocating comments because I can really busy at the office with students. So if I haven’t attended to your comments, please forgive me. I’ll try getting to them as soon as I can. 🙂

  11. If someone comments on my memes, I do my best to comment as well. If I have nothing to add to their meme discussion, I leave a comment on another post.
    _______
    Matthew, I bet your friends have Olympic fever! It must be such a wonderful feeling in China right now. And of course I would forgive you. 🙂 We can’t forget that we all have a life outside of the blogging world. I didn’t get to Booking Through Thursday again this week. It was a great topic, but I just didn’t have the time.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

