Random Late Night Olympic Associations

August 11, 2008 at 11:40 am | Posted in LIfe | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

If you were watching the Olympics last night, I hope that you didn’t miss the men’s 4X100 relay race. The French team were favored and apparently talking smack about the American team. In the last length of the pool, Jason Lezak – in what seemed a miraculous comeback to me – squeaked out a gold medal victory for the United States. After holding my breath, I couldn’t help but scream. It was so exciting. As Michael Phelps has the possibility of winning a record 8 gold medals at these games, there was a lot of camera attention on him during the replays. Here is an example:

With his suit undone to his waist and his gigantic monster roar of joy, I immediately thought of Iggy Pop:

Even if I’m insane and the only one to make up that connection, Michael Phelps, Garret Weber-Gale, Cullen Jones, and Jason Lezak certainly have a Lust for Life and it shows. Congratulations! We’re all very proud of you!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I thought the same thing! So rest assured that there is at least one other psycho out here with you!

  2. It was an amazing race. I screamed too-just about scared the kitten off my lap. Haha

  3. It was so awesome and exciting! 🙂

  4. I was screaming at the TV — it was so amazing! And they shattered the world record, even the fifth place team beat the previous world record time. When they showed the French team after the race, I lost my good sportsmanship and said, “Serves you right, that’s what you get for talking smack!” The Olympics bring out the rabid fan in me. She usually only makes appearances during Philadelphia Eagles games.

  5. It was a very exciting race! I do enjoy watching the swimming!

  6. Yep, he does resemble Iggy Pop! I was upset because they turned off the sound while he was screaming. It must’ve been almost as loud as Old Iggy!

    You won, darling!

  7. I’m glad I’m not the only one who made the Iggy Pop association. If I’m crazy, I’m in mighty good company. I am also a pretty rabid fan, but I don’t let it bother me too much. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

