Book Bloggers Beware ~ An Update

August 15, 2008 at 3:42 pm | Posted in LIfe | 6 Comments

After writing this post, I was personally contacted by Rusty Shelton, the Managing Director of Phenix & Phenix Literary Publicists.  He expressed his sincere apologies.  It was upsetting for him to find out about what was going on, but he was glad to find out.  Now that he knows, he can take care of the situation.

One thing that I want to clarify from my original post is that I do not hold Phenix & Phenix responsible for what happened.  There is no way they could have foreseen this?  I’ve had plenty of great experiences working with them and am looking forward to more in the future.  I was warning my fellow book bloggers about the book and its authors, not the publicist. 😉

I want to thank each and every one of you for your suggestions and your thoughts.  I will be reposting the review and disallowing the comments.  erisian was exactly right about that and thanks to my beloved husband, I now know how to make that happen.  Another special thanks to Johnny for letting me know that the name of the image included the name of the book.  I really appreciate that he brought that to my attention.

Here’s hoping that this will never happen to another book blogger.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow that’s such a crazy situation. I’m sorry you had to go through all of that!

  2. Wow! I was offline most of yesterday and missed the hoopla. That’s a really awful situation – I love a good flamewar as much as any other long-time Netizen, but it’s rude to conduct it in someone else’s space. I also understand how intrusive and threatening those comments can feel when they start popping up on your blog or in your email. I’m glad the publishers were so responsive.

    I passed on this book because I was overloaded and now I’m glad I did!

  3. Jennifer, sounds like Phenix & Phenix responded admirably. For what it’s worth, I never read your original post as a condemnation of the publicist.

  4. I went though a similar experience when I posted my review of the same book. It definitely was not something I would like to repeat. I admire your actions in response though.

  5. This is really scary. That kind of retaliation and harassment is very alarming and I don’t know what I’d do if something like that happened to me. But I think you handled it very well. I guess no matter how careful you are, you’re bound to run into some very weird types out there in cyberspace.

  6. Wow, so much drama!! I like the way the publishers handled it. Good for you for getting the review re-posted!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

