Tuesday Thingers ~ LT Vs RL

August 19, 2008 at 6:35 am | Posted in LIfe | 10 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today’s question: LT and RL (real life)- do you have friends in real life that you met through LibraryThing? Have you attended any LT meet-ups in your area? Would you be open to attending meet-ups or is LT strictly an online thing for you?

I have not met anyone that I’ve become friends with on LibraryThing in real life, although I would be happy to meet each of them. The downside of living in a small town is that there aren’t any LT meet ups. I do have a pretty successful history with online meetings, though. Back in 1994, I spent time chatting on a talker called Dreamscape. My nickname was ZenLauda. One day, through a conversation I started about Michael Stipe, I started talking with HoneyPoison. We met and fell in love. I moved from Michigan to Virginia to attend graduate school and to see if our relationship was just something that felt right when we visited each other. In October, we will have been married for 11 years, with two beautiful daughters to show for it. Not too shabby if you ask me. πŸ™‚

How about you? Have you ever met anyone IRL who you met online? How did it work out?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, Brian and I actually met on Match.com, 6 months later we were engaged, our wedding was 2 years and 4 days after the initial meeting. I’ve never met up in person with anyone I met on any other sort of website, though.

  2. Wow! What a great story. Where did you go to graduate school?

  3. Jen, that’s awesome about Match.com. Danny and I wonder if we’d be considered a good match for each other when we see those commercials. Speaking of which, when’s yours? πŸ˜‰
    ____
    bermuda, I got my Master’s Degree from Hollins University. It’s a private college in Roanoke. Very beautiful campus.

  4. I met my fiance online through a video gaming forum. We had been “together” online – waiting until we met to date others – then we knew it was instant success the moment we saw each other. It’s taken longer for us as he’s British, but we’re planning on getting married next spring. πŸ˜€

  5. I’ve heard lots of great things about Hollins, but I’ve never been there, even though I’ve been to Roanoke lots of times.

  6. My grandma was just asking that this weekend. I think we need to let them know about our story (from the twelve-hour first date to the wedding in just over 2 years). I figure that a commercial would go a long way towards a down payment on a new house…

  7. Jennifer, what a great story. Yours too Jen and Meghan!

    My husband and I hooked up with a dinner club via a cooking message board. We really liked everyone in it and were members until we relocated out of the state.

  8. Jennifer, that’s such a great story!

  9. It’s always fun to hear about how other people have met. I’m not much of a cook. Shana, you and your husband are welcome at my house anytime! πŸ™‚
    _______
    bermuda – the next time you’re in my neck of the woods, we’ll have to get together!

  10. That’s such a wonderful story. I know two other women who met their future husbands online, and both marriages are doing just fine. So I guess online meetings really can lead to some very close relationships!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.