The Sunday Salon

August 24, 2008 at 10:14 am | Posted in Books, LIfe, My Life with Books, Reading | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Sunday Salon.com

This week was by far less eventful than last week. For that I am very grateful. I was able to read two books: The Last Queen by C.W. Gortner and House and Home by Kathleen McCleary. I also posted my review of Pattern Recognition by William Gibson.

I became absolutely entranced by Juana La Loca while reading Gortner’s novel. Her story is tragic as she was betrayed by every man in her life, but she was such a strong woman. I hated that Jennifer was translated into Juanita in my high school Spanish classes. It wasn’t as sexy as Carmen or Pilar. It sounded plain to me. Now I would happily take on the name Juana for the strength and courage it signifies. Besides, what’s wrong with people thinking you might be crazy? They should be careful.

I read McCleary’s novel for one of the first TLC Book Tours, so you’re just going to have to come back on September 8th, when the tour reaches The Literate Housewife Review. This will be the second time I’ve participated in a virtual book tour. My first go round was for Mrs. Lieutenant by Phyllis Zimbler Miller. It was a good experience for me and I’m hoping that when Bethany from B&b ex libris is less bogged down we can get together with the author and hold a discussion.

This week I launched my first reading challenge: Expand Your Horizons. The object of this challenge is to exchange books with a friend who has different taste in books than you do. The first reviews for this challenge were Special Topics in Calamity Physics, written by my friend Mark and my review of Pattern Recognition. I’m hoping that Mark and I will do this again soon. It was a good experience for the both of us.

Marcia from The Printed Page will be sending me her copy of The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff. I’ve been coveting this book ever since it was offered as an Early Review book through LibraryThing. Jen’s review at Devourer of Books only intensified it. I am so excited to be receiving it. Thanks, Marcia! I’m starting the next book I’ll be sending you today…

Which leads me to what I’m going to be reading this week. The first book up is The Seamstress by Frances De Pontes Pebbles. It is set in Brazil, a country I’ve never visited before and I’m really looking forward to it. It’s a 600+ page book, but I’m thinking that it will read quickly. After that, I’m going to read Femme Fatale by Pat Shipman, which is a biography of Mata Hari. I’m really looking forward to this. I just discovered that she was a Dutch courtesan. One of my people… 😉

I’ve gotten a little behind in my blog reading, so I’m hoping to catch up on that tonight. I hope that everyone has had a wonderful week. Emma starts kindergarten tomorrow and after a great experience at her open house, she’s looking forward to it. That will help me keep my tears to a minimum. 😉

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Jenn,

    “The 19th Wife” is packaged and ready to go in the mail tomorrow. I loved it! Also, I may have a connection to get a book you wanted to write publisher and request but you practiced restraint. If I get my hands on a copy of “The Other Queen” you can spend your Amazaon $$$ on something else. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

  2. Hey! I am ready when you are!! Let me know how you want to do it. I am excited about it 🙂

  3. sounds like youve got some great reads lined up. I had my eye on The 19th Wife, it does look good.
    good luck tomorrow with kindergarden 🙂 when I dropped my kids off the first day of kindergarden, I cried all the way home.

  4. I remember many girls named Juana and boys named Paco. I have wanted to read that book, and I love strong heroines, so its on the list already.
    The 19th wife is on its way, should be here this week.

    I teach…and I take very good care of all the kindergardeners..first day and all year. 🙂

  5. You had a better reading week than I did, for sure! I borrowed James Lipton’s fun questionnaire from Inside the Actors Studio and started a meme , and I’ve tagged you for it…so enjoy!

  6. Marcia, you are so great, but I’ve already pre-ordered it. I just could not wait. 😉 I hope that you get the book anyway. I can’t wait to read it!
    ________
    Thank you so much to all the teachers out there that look out for the little kinders. We parents really and truly appreciate it. Wisteria, we may end up reading The 19th Wife together. Everyone seems to absolutely love it.
    _________
    Rebecca, I love the Actor’s Studio and I’ll be taking you up on the meme tonight! How much fun is that?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

