My Baby’s A Big Girl Now

August 25, 2008 at 12:09 pm | Posted in Books | 15 Comments

This morning, the tiny baby with black hair that we brought home with us from the hospital, the sweet bundle who was so quiet that I kept putting my finger under her nose to feel her breathe on the car ride home, the joyous toddler who loved to flirt with boys, the headstrong preschooler with the most tender feelings went to kindergarten for the first time this morning.

Emma with Proud, but Sad Little Sissy

Emma with Proud, but Sad Little Sissy

Oh, yeah!  I'm a Kindergartener!  Oh, yeah!

Oh, yeah! I'm a Kindergartener!

Oh, So Proud Mama

Oh, So Proud Mama

Oh, So Proud Papa

Oh, So Proud Papa

Go Back!  Mama Wants a Bus Picture!

Go Back! Mama Wants a Bus Picture!

Since Emma loved the orientation so much, I wasn’t as upset with her going as I thought I would be. I didn’t get weepy until the bus left the neighborhood. πŸ˜‰

You go, Emma! You’re my smart, beautiful girl. There’s nothing you can’t do.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aw, what a big day! Thanks for sharing it with us. Good luck to Emma!

  2. What beautiful girls Jenn! Emma looks happy to be heading to Kindergarten. Hope she has a wonderful day-I’m anxious to hear how it goes for her. Thanks for sharing this big day with us.

  3. Your girls are adorable! I hope Emma has a great first day and then continues to have great days all year!

  4. Oh, my, I have to go give hugs to my kids. No kidding, I was tearing up reading this and remembering our eldest’s first day of Kindergarten (she enters 7th grade this year!). Our youngest has two more years before he starts Kindergarten … maybe I’ll be gleeful and doing the happy dance to have them all in school, but I think the tears will well again πŸ™‚

  5. Boy, does this bring back memories. Mine is a junior in college now and starting kindergarten was a breeze for him, but not his mama.

  6. Thanks everyone! Emma did have a great day. She had so much fun at school and has met a handful of new friends. The best quote of the day’s recap was, “I didn’t want the chicken patty, but the pizza was SO gross. When I saw Hailey scarf down the chicken patty I said, ‘Tomorrow, I’m getting the chicken patty. I really, really am. I swear'” πŸ˜‰

    Dawn, my youngest has two years and I know that it will be easier in some ways because she’ll be with Emma and harder in some ways because there will be no more babies in the house.

  7. Jenn,

    We both have been officially initiated into kindergarteness, huh?

    Chloe’s first comment was “There’s this room called the cafeteria and it’s like a restaurant.”

    Oh my! Wait til she has the food.

    Thanks for posting the pics. Nice to “see” you and your adorable girls. I posted my kindergarten pics on my blog today as well. Aren’t we proud mamas?

    Hearts,

    k

  8. I hope she had a wonderful first day! I remember my mother waiting for me when I got home from my first day of school — she took a picture of me just as I was getting off the bus. (She drove me to school every morning, I only rode the bus on the way home.) That picture means a lot to me now, and I’m sure these photos will mean a lot to Emma when she’s older.

  9. Awwwww. Damn, they grow up way too fast, don’t they? Before you know it, she’ll be asking to borrow the car keys. I must leave now before I get all misty-eyed.

  10. Cute! I’ve got a few years left before I’ll be packing up my kids to go to school. I’m sure it will be here before I know it.

  11. Jennifer, your girls are lovely. What great pictures of a very momentous occasion. I’m glad she was so happy about kindergarten … certainly makes it easier for Mommy that way!

  12. Oh my gosh are they cute. I have been reading so many first day of school posts lately…I don’t know how you all let them go!

  13. So darling! I have two boys, I love her pose. I can relate to the weepiness right now.

  14. Awww… what a big girl! Love the photos!

    I got a little weepy when I dropped Peanut off for her first day of preschool this week. It hit me (finally) that this is just the beginning of many small separations that are going to draw her away from me into her own world.

  15. Thanks so much for your nice comments about my girls. I love them so much. It just seems like yesterday I changed Emma’s first diaper and now she’s starting to make her way out into the world. I’m coming to realize that as a parent you are dying a thousand tiny deaths. You don’t want them to stop needing your and you don’t want them to go, but that IS the purpose of all this. For me the hardest part was leading up to the day. For those of you who haven’t made it to this point yet, it will be bittersweet, but your pride will overcome all of that. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

