Inside the Reader’s Studio Meme

August 26, 2008 at 3:22 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe | 10 Comments
Tags: , ,

Rebecca at The Book Lady’s Blog tagged me with this meme and I’m so excited about it. I’ve often wanted to be asked about my favorite swear word and now’s my chance to answer that question. Yee Ha! In addition to checking out her answers to this meme, she’s also holding a great giveaway. Click here to find out more about winning an ARC of The Gone Away World. If I don’t win it, I sure hope that you do. 🙂

____________

In the spirit of continuing my “getting to know you” theme from last week, I thought I’d borrow this questionnaire from my good buddy James Lipton (love him!) at Inside the Actors Studio and try to get a fun little meme started at the same time. So, I’ll answer the questions and then tag three of my blogging buddies, who will then tag three more, and well…you see how it goes.

What is your favorite word? I like a lot of words, but I think I’ll go with malfeasance. I’ve loved it ever since I first watched Fargo.

What is your least favorite word? c*nt. It is always distracting to me and makes me tense. For example, I could hardly watch Sexy Beast because of Ben Kingsley‘s character’s frequent use of that word. This is the verbal equivalent to torture in movies.

What turns you on (creatively, spiritually or emotionally)? laughter, a twinkle in the eye, great music, books, and films

What turns you off (creatively, spiritually or emotionally)? burping words

What sound or noise do you love? Danny’s voice, Allison’s laughter, Emma’s singing,Trista singing, the opening chords to “Where the Streets have No Name,” the chorus to “Fire Woman” by The Cult, rain, birds in the morning

What sound or noise do you hate? burping words, the sound of people eating, jaw popping, snoring, loud breathing, Ted Levine’s voice (Buffalo Bill from The Silence of the Lambs)

What is your favorite curse word? Without any competition, it’s motherf**ker.  Ever since I heard Samuel L. Jackson’s character in Pulp Fiction say, “I’m a bad@ss motherf**ker, motherf**ker” I’ve been hooked.  It’s also uttered over and over again in the song “Die Motherf**ker, Die” by the Geto Boys during the scene where they are kicking the springs out of the printer in Office Space.  Perfect, just perfect.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? I’d love to be a librarian, archaeologist, or an author.

What profession would you not like to do? Pretty much any job featured on The Discovery Channel’s Dirty Jobs.  I love the show, couldn’t take any of the jobs.  I’m just glad that there are those who will.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? After hearing the Edge playing the opening to “Where the Streets Have No Name,” which is how I’ll know I made it to heaven instead of the other option, I hope to hear God say, “Before you do anything else, you must read all those books you’ve left unread.”

I tag Katherine at A Girl Walks into a Bookstore, Adam at Letters on Pages, and Matt at A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook.  Please tag three more and link back here so I can follow it along.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, this makes me happy! Malfeasance is a great word. I think Dwight used it on an episode of The Office, and I almost peed in my pants.

    I wish I had thought of “burping words.” I hate that sound, along with the sound little boys make by putting their hands in their armpits and flapping their arms. Eeeew.

  2. Oooh! That word you hate, I HATE that word. I try to pretend it doesn’t exist. I’m not much of a fan of c*ck either, but I REALLY hate that word.

  3. Rebecca, I don’t watch The Office, but I know who Dwight is and I’m going to have to see if that scene is on YouTube.
    _______
    Dev, we’re on the same page with both words. In fact, the use of both of those words didn’t work well for me in The Time Traveler’s Wife and I said so in my review.

  4. Regarding the “c” word: I used to hate it, too, but then I read and saw The Vagina Monologues and witnessed the performance of an incredible piece about reclaiming the word. Apparently, when Glenn Close performed it on Broadway, she got a whole theater full of people to stand up and chant it with her. That’s pretty cool. I still hate to hear the word used as a derogatory term (after all, why is calling someone, essentially, a vagina, supposed to be so damaging, anyway?), but I can handle it in small doses or in non-derogatory situations.

    It’s a great conversation point, Jennifer.

  5. Fun game Jennifer! Thanks for tagging me! My responses are scheduled to post on Thursday morning.

  6. My answer is up! This one is fun! 🙂

  7. Love the ‘Where the Streets Have No Name’!

  8. Ha ha, your favorite swear ranks right down there with your least favorite word for me. It’s not that it’s such a horrifying word as just that I never quite know what it’s getting at. Doesn’t that word just mean… dad? Or does it mean someone more um, Oedipal? I’ve never really been sure. 😉

  9. Adam and Matthew, I’m so glad that you thought this was as fun as I did.
    _____
    I have always had a thing for Bono, but – I’m about to blaspheme here and I can’t believe it – without The Edge, I don’t know that I would have ever noticed him. Fhew… no lightning strikes, yet.
    _____
    Dew, thinking about what the word actually means does take away from it, doesn’t it? 🙂 I will now have to watch Pulp Fiction to remove the doubt you have now planted in my mind about the usage of my favorite cuss word. 😉

  10. Hee, hee. I had to laugh at your favorite curse word. My husband is always accusing me of having a potty mouth because I use that one a bit too often.

    It seems everyone is in agreement on the “C” word. Have you noticed that English and Irish authors use it much more liberally and it doesn’t seem to carry the same … stigma (for lack of a better word) as it does here?

    Hey, Jennifer, I nominated you for the Super Commenter Award. Details are here:

    http://blog.literarily.com/2008/08/28/ive-been-nominated-.aspx

    Have a great holiday weekend!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

