Meet Me in D.C.

August 28, 2008 at 5:27 pm | Posted in Books, Historical Fiction, LIfe, My Life with Books, Philippa Gregory, Reading | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

As my regular readers are well aware, I’m a Philippa Gregory fanatic. To this day, two of my three most viewed posts by far are about reading her Tudor series in chronological order and my thoughts about Anne Boleyn’s rape scene in the film adaptation of The Other Boleyn Girl. When I received her newsletter recently, I read it word for word. When I read that her tour dates for The Other Queen were set on her website, I went there immediately knowing full well that she most likely wouldn’t be coming any where near my little hamlet in Southwest Virginia.

It was like Christmas morning when I discovered that she will be taking part in the 2008 National Book Festival in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, September 27.  D.C. is still five hours away. With gas prices the way they are, my joy started to dim until I noticed all of the other authors who will be there: Neil Gaiman, Salmon Rushdie, Geraldine Brooks, and Marisa de los Santos just to name a few. It’s sounds like such a wonderful event and I’m sad that I’ve not heard about it before this year.  I hope that this is one thing that will continue on after President Bush leaves office.

I have asked my husband to take me there and he agreed so long as our yard sale isn’t held that weekend.  Uh, it most definitely won’t!  I’m not sure what we’ll do as far as driving there.  Neil Gaiman is appearing in the Teens & Children Pavilion at 11:45.  We’d have to leave pretty early in the morning to get there in time for that.  We may drive to Alexandria and get a hotel the night before and then take the train into the city.  Is there anyone else out there who is planning on attending?  Let’s make plans to get together!  It’s going to be a great day!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well I’m much too far away for this but how awesome for you! I can just imagine how excited you are at the prospect of meeting Philippa Gregory. I’d love to meet her too. It sounds like a nice trip to be taking, that’s for sure. I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  2. Jennifer, this sounds awesome. How absolutely sweet of your husband to take you. Wow, Philippa Gregory, Geraldine Brooks, Marisa de los Santos. That’s an impressive line-up.

  3. My sister & mom got to see Steven Kellogg (a children’s book author/illustrator who’s on the kids’ book line-up) about twenty years ago and they LOVED him. If you’re not seeing another author at that time, I’m sure you’d enjoy watching him–he tells his story and illustrates on an easel simultaneously.

  4. Sounds like a great time with a great hubby.

  5. […] excited as I am about attending the National Book Festival in less than a month, fall is not the best time of year for me. It seems like it kicks in earlier […]

  6. that sounds amazing, enjoy it! OMG Neil Gaiman …*faint*

    I read ‘The Constant Princess’ by P.Gregory and really enjoyed it. I have ‘The Virgins Lover’ on my TBR.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

