300th Post and August Recap

September 1, 2008 at 9:50 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe, My Life with Books | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I couldn’t believe it, but my WordPress stats indicate that my post yesterday about Maw Books’ Darfur fund raiser was my 299th post.  That makes my August Recap my 300th official post!!!  Whoo Hoo!  Thanks to each and every one of you who have read this blog.  It’s really been an anchor for me.

Non-Reading Reading-Related Activities

This month I created my first challenge: Expand Your Horizons.  No one has joined Mark and me, but I’m hopeful that there are others out there who might find it fun to share books with a friend.

My first guest post was published on Saturday at The Friendly Book Nook and I was really excited about that.  Thanks to everyone who responded with comments.  It really meant a lot to me.  A special thanks to The Friendly Book Nook for honoring me this way.

I’ve been hard at work organizing the relaunch of The Literate Housewives’ Book Club.  I’ve been sprucing up the blog site and adding the forum.  I’ve also been hard at work on the bookmarks for everyone.  Unfortunately I was not able to get to the post office at all this past week.  I met Emma when she got off of the bus all last week.  Without a lunch break, I just didn’t have time.  Rest assured that everyone will get their bookmarks this week.  The club will officially open on the 15th of September.  I’m hoping to get invitations to the forum sent out tomorrow.

Reading Activity for the Month

Now for the downer…  I read only 6 books in August.  Actually, it’s closer to 5.75 because I read half of Surviving Ben’s Suicide in July and I read the last 6th of The Seamstress today (since I read over 500 of the pages of this book in August, it’s counting in August).  Here’s how that all broke down:

Non-Fiction:

Surviving Ben’s Suicide by C. Comfort Shields
The Castaway Kid by R.B. Mitchell

Expand Your Horizons Challenge:

Pattern Recognition by William Gibson

Fiction:

Melmoth the Wanderer by Charles Robert Maturin
No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
The Seamstress by Frances De Pontes Peebles (review coming soon)

I shouldn’t be too hard on myself because of the numbers.  It took me a week to read the 250 I finished of Melmoth the Wanderer and it took me another week to read The Seamstress and Pattern Recognition.

August Favorite

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m anxious to read your review of The Seamstress – the cover is really intriguing.

  2. Thank you for your special guest post, I loved your story! 🙂

  3. 300????
    I have a long way to go. Here’s to another 300 and many more.

  4. I can’t wait for the book club! I’ve been putting off reading Immortal so that I don’t forget it before the discussion begins, but this means I can start it fairly soon.

  5. I’m a sucker for a great cover and The Seamstress has one. Glad to hear you liked it.

  6. Congrats on 300 posts-that’s awesome! I love the cover on The Seamstress-can’t wait for the review.

  7. 300? Wow. Thanks for keeping us literate!

  8. 300 posts! congrats!!:) that’s an awesome deal!:)

  9. Congrats!

    How’s life in the kindergarten lane??

  10. yeah! I have the Seamstess on my pile. Look forward to your review:)

  11. Thanks everyone! I am going to post my review of The Last Queen tonight for a blog tour and then I’ll be working on my review of The Seamstress. What I loved about it is that it took place in Brazil, a country I’ve never visited in fiction before. I think that all of you would love it.
    _______
    Kindergarten is wonderful! Emma is just loving every second of it and we haven’t had a moment’s trouble with her going to bed at night. It’s a miracle!

  12. Congratulations on the 300th post milestone! 🙂

  13. Oh I’m staying put for your review on The Seamstress. I’ve been wanting to read it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

