Where on My Blog is Philippa Gregory?

September 14, 2008 at 12:00 am | Posted in Books | 6 Comments

Update: We have a Winner, but the Contest is On-Going!!!!!!

Congratulations to Alyce at At Home with Books!  She is the winner of the Philippa Gregory Scavenger Hunt!  I thought I was pretty sneaky naming each picture after my kids and nieces and nephews, but I was no match for the smarts and drive of my readers. 🙂  Jill at Fizzy Thoughts was only 15 minutes behind Alyce and Julie at Booking Mama and Shana at Literarily were not too far behind, either.

Don’t be discouraged, though.  Since this contest found it’s winner so soon, I’m going to buy another copy of The Other Queen.  Anyone who correctly sends me all 10 links by 5pm on the 16th (Tuesday) will be entered in a drawing for the second copy of the book.  If there are more than 25 people, I’ll throw in a third book.  One caveat here is that I don’t know if there is a limit to the number of items authors will sign at the National Book Festival.  I will get as many signed as they will allow me. 🙂

Keep searching everyone!

Midnight, moonlight, hope you see Philippa Gregory tonight!

My BBAW Philippa Gregory Scavenger Hunt is now officially under way.  In case you didn’t get a chance to read my earlier post, here are the details:

[You can now find graphics] of my favorite historical fiction author in 10 places on my blog.  The first person to email me and correctly identify each place I’ve added her photo will win.  If no one correctly identifies all of the posts by 5pm EST on Tuesday, September 16, the winner will be the person who has sent me an email with the most correct locations.  If there is a tie, I’ll use Randomizer to select the winner.  So, even if you can’t find all of her pictures, submit your entry!

So, what might you get for prowling around my blog looking for Philippa?  How about a copy of The Other Queen?  I won’t be able to send you the book until the 29th, though.  I hope you don’t mind.  You see, unless disaster strikes and I can’t make it to DC, I will be bringing this copy of the book with me to have it signed to you by Philippa!

In order for the picture of Philippa Gregory to count for this scavenger hunt, it must have a caption like this:

Your first treasure in this hunt!

Your first treasure in this hunt!

Because I am the warm and wonderful blogger that I am, the above graphic counts as one of the ten.  The first person to find them all and send me an email is the winner.  What are you waiting for? Henry VIII to get saddled up to join you?  Don’t be silly!  Get out there and start hunting!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hmmm…this a nice way for a contest. I just bought ‘The little house’ and ‘Zelda’s cut’ by Philippa Gregory. I hope they are good 🙂

  2. You guys are fast! We already have a winner – Alyce at At Home with Books. Congratulations, Alyce!

  3. […] head over here.  I’ve added the number of […]

  4. Thanks for offering such a great prize!

  5. Congratulations, Alyce.

    Jennifer, your captions had me laughing this morning!

  6. This is a great idea for a contest! No need to enter me, I already have this one. Have a wonderful time at the National Book Festival!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

