Christmas Eve in September – I’m off to the National Book Festival

September 26, 2008 at 10:24 pm | Posted in Books | 13 Comments

I really need to get to bed and get some sleep, but I feel exactly like I did as a kid on Christmas Eve.  I cannot believe that tomorrow has finally arrived and that I’ll soon be seeing and perhaps meeting Philippa Gregory.  I’ve loved her ever since I started reading The Other Boleyn Girl.  That book single-handedly redirected my reading habits and I couldn’t be more thankful about it.  I would not be making this trip if she weren’t there and I cannot wait to just smile at her.  Alyce and Jill, your copies of The Other Queen are in my bag as I write.  I can’t wait to get them signed for you and sent off in the mail.  Since my husband is going with me, I’m hoping that I can get my copy of TOBG and one copy of TOQ signed during my turn and the other signed during my husband’s turn. 🙂

I’m also going to see and hopefully get autographs from Neil Gaiman, Salman Rushdie, and James McBride.  I read James McBride’s The Color of Water for a class in grad school and it had a profound impact on me.  It is the most beautiful love letter a man could ever write to his mother.  I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to meet him.

I haven’t read Neil Gaiman or Salman Rushdie yet, but I will be very soon.  Jena graciously sent me a copy of Gaiman’s Neverwhere simply because I offered to get an autograph for her.  She emailed me about it on a particularly stressful day at work and it just made me feel so good inside.  I will treasure that novel in so many ways because you gave it to me, Jena!  Thank you so much!!!!  I also found out that Neil Gaiman is the Neil that Tori Amos often writes about.  I’m sure that when I was first a Tori fan I researched who Neil was, but he wasn’t anyone on my radar at the time.  When my husband sent me an email about Neil and Tori’s friendship and mutual admiration, I about fell off my chair.  Tomorrow I hope to be once removed from Tori Amos.  Wow!

I spent my lunch break at Barnes and Noble today and bought a copy of The Satanic Verses.  All the hoopla surrounding that book took place around the time I was a senior in high school, so just picking it up takes me back to those days. 🙂  Assuming I get it authographed and Rushdie allows for pictures, that will be the way that I honor Banned Book Week on my blog.

So, now I’m going to make myself lay down and try to get some sleep…  I’ll have pictures and more posted this weekend.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have fun!!!

  2. Take me with you?

    I hope you have a wonderful time! I can’t wait for you to blog about your experiences at the festival.

    I really enjoy Neil Gaiman. I’ve been following his blog for ages, finally read Coraline last month and now I’m anxiously awaiting the release of The Graveyard Book. I’ve already decided that one of my personal challenges for 2009 will be to read more of Neil’s work.

  3. I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to see pictures!

    I haven’t read any Neil Gaiman books yet either, but I hear they’re great. I hope you have a wonderful time. 🙂

  4. Wow, are you lucky or what?

    I have never read a Gaiman’s book ye, but having read so much about him on book blogs I will make sure i do.

    Have fun, not that i need to tell you that. looking forward to the pictures

  5. […] Literate Housewife wrote an interesting post today onbChristmas/b Eve in September – Iâ??m off to the National Book FestivalHere’s a quick excerptI really need to get to bed and get some sleep, but I feel exactly like I did as a kid on bChristmas/b Eve. I cannot believe that tomorrow has finally arrived and that I’ll soon be seeing and perhaps meeting Philippa Gregory. b…/b […]

  6. Wow — I look forward to hearing about it! I wonder if authors understand how excited their fans get.

    kristen at http://www.thefamilythatreadstogether.blogspot.com

  7. I hope you have the time of your life!

  8. Jennifer, Have Fun!

    I am so looking forward to pictures.

    (And I hope you get to do more than smile at P.G. Surely you can exchange a few words.)

  9. Have a great day! How awesome to be surrounded by such great authors and to have an oppportunity to meet them and get autographs. I can’t wait to hear all about it. I read James McBride’s book Color of Water years ago when it first came out. I was profoundly touched by his writing and love for his mother and family. He is truly a gifted writer.

  10. I’m excited for you. I hope you’re having a great time! I can’t wait to hear about it and see pictures.

  11. I hope you have a wonderful time! I’m so envious!

  12. whatever!!! I wish I were YOU! Anyone can do a header…hardly anyone got to go to the book festival!! Have a good enough time for us all 🙂

  13. I’m so excited for you! I’ll be checking back for your report from Washington DC! I have only read Satanic Verses and the book is really dark.

    The movie hype has overkilled my desire to read the book. But since you’re highly recommending it, I’ll put The Other Boleyn Girl on my list.

    Have fun and enjoy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

