Gone Camping

October 3, 2008 at 7:43 am | Posted in Books | 15 Comments

My family is headed out this morning on our first camping trip.  We’ll be enjoying the beautiful fall weather at Pipestem State Park in West Viriginia.   Two of my co-workers and their families will also be joining us.  We should have a wonderful time.

I’m already 160 blog posts behind in Google Reader, so I can’t imagine what that will look like when I get back.  Rest assured I’ll be visiting and leaving comments when I get back.  I’m hoping to have some relaxation time to use to read and write up my reviews and the two memes I’ve been tagged on in the past couple of weeks.  I’m not bringing my laptop, so I’ll be writing them out the old fashioned way.  Talk about roughing it! ;)\

I’m bringing The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory (can you believe I haven’t finished this one yet?), The Tenth Case by Joseph Teller, and Bad Monkeys by Matt Ruff.  I’m tempted to bring 20th Century Ghosts by Joe Hill, but I’m pretty darn timid when it comes to ghost stories and camping. 🙂  Would be fun to read around the campfire after the kids go down, though…

While I’m gone, be sure to check out Devourer of Books’ 100th review giveaway!  It’s pretty darn wonderful and the more people who enter, the more books she will include.

Have a great weekend everyone!

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have fun!! Sounds wonderful!
    Lezlie

  2. Have a great time! I love camping, it was so fun when my family used to go when we were younger.

  3. Good luck with the camping. My idea of camping is the Holiday Inn.

  4. Wow!!! Sounds like so much fun, have a GREAT time.

    Now I want a break too…

  5. Have fun Jennifer. I bet the girls will have a blast. I hope you get some quality reading time in. I’m still working on Immortal-I should finish it this weekend.

  6. Should be great…have fun!!

  7. Enjoy your trip!

  8. Let the great outdoors clear your mind and bring inspiration. I love the crisp breezes this time of year. I hope you can build a fire — they’re the best in the fall.
    We both loved and needed the campfires. I love the smell, the s’mores, the warmth and the peacefulness.

  9. Have a great weekend.

  10. Have fun!

  11. Jennifer, no! I cannot believe you haven’t finished The Other Queen!!!

    Have fun. I love camping – or traveling for that matter – in groups. It is so much fun.

  12. That looks like a beautiful spot and personally, I hope you can just let the blogging go for now and enjoy your trip!

  13. I’m not one for camping and Pipestem is about 3 hours south of me! I hope you have a wonderful time!!

  14. I love camping although I didn’t have a chance to go on a camping trip this summer (because of summer school). I always bring the propane stove and cook my own breakfast and soup. Like the old-fashioned way. I do have seen people ordering pizza?! Hope you had a great time. Did you get a lot of reading done?

  15. Thank you all for your comments! We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the outdoors. I did not, however, get as much reading done as I’d hoped. That’s okay though. Sometimes you need to relax from everything – even your favorite things.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

