Mailbox Monday 10.06.08

October 6, 2008 at 4:21 pm | Posted in Books | 6 Comments

This is my first week participating in Mailbox Monday.  I’ve seen so many other book bloggers post about this and I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. I always think that it is fun to see what is going to be coming up on other blogs.

So I’m starting a new meme when I’ve not been very faithful to my other weekly memes.  That doesn’t really make a whole lot of sense, but since this one I can compile as books arrive, I’m hoping to be much more reliable.

Thanks for hosting this meme, Marcia!

Here’s what I found in my mailbox last week:

Midwife of the Blue Ridge by Christine Blevins ~ sent to me by the author

I am so very excited about book.  I got this box in the mail and it smelled so good!  Christine emailed me a few weeks ago and offered me a published copy of her novel since she no longer had any ARCs left.  Since it was “the real thing,” I let her know that I would offer it as a giveaway.  What she did was sign my copy (!!!) and give me a second for a give away.  In addition to that, she sent some wonderful lavender soap and tea leaves packaged specifically for her book.  Check back for details on how you can win a copy of her novel along with some tea and lavender soap (I’m telling you the smell is to die for!) when I review this novel next month.

The Wise Woman by Philippa Gregory ~ Barnes and Noble purchase

I’m looking forward to making time to read this novel next year.  I’m going to cut back on my ARCs, etc… so that I can read as my fancy leads me for a little while.

Loving Frank by Nancy Horan ~ Barnes and Noble purchase

When I posted my contest celebrating my 100th review, one of my high school classmates entered the contest from my link on Facebook and then left a second comment suggesting this book.  I can’t wait to read it.  There is a Frank Lloyd Wright house in my home town of Grand Rapids, MI, which I love.  I’ve also been to Falling Water near Ohiopile, PA.  I’m interested in reading about him.  Thanks for the suggestion, Jen!

The Second Elizabeth
by Karen Lillis ~ sent to me by the author

This novel is set in Charlottesville, VA, not too far from where I live.  It’s a more experimental novel, so I’m curious to see what it is like.

The Lost Diary of Don Juan by Douglas Carlton Abrams ~ sent to me by Pump Up Your Book Promotions

I’m hosting Abrams’ on his virtual book tour this month.  Check back on October 21st for my review and more.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve been thinking about starting Mailbox Mondays, too. I always love to see what other people have gotten.
    It’s a lot of fun to be a peeping tom on someone’s book shelves with their permission.

  2. Hey I jumped in also and i’m participating for the first time today.

  3. Jennifer, welcome to Mailbox Monday.

    I tend to not be extremely regular in any meme either. But I still enjoy doing them when I can.

    I’ve always thought The Wise Woman sounds good. I’m curious about it and will be looking forward to your review.

    How very generous of Christine Blevins!

    The Second Elizabeth – hmmmm that Charlottesville, VA setting really has me intrigued. I’m going to have to read up on that one!
    I will let you know about The Second Elizabeth. Charlottesville is a great city despite being the heart of Cavalier Country.

  4. Hey you,

    I’m so excited you decided to join ‘Mailbox’ this week. You always get some of the best books and my wish list continues to grow and grow every time I stop by your blog. 🙂 Don’t forget to stop by TPP and leave your link to so others can stop by and peek in your ‘Mailbox’.

    BTW – I’m glad you’re enjoying ‘The Other Queen’. I was starting to get nervous about it with some of the other reviews I’m seeing. Our reading tastes are so similar that I’m sure I’ll like it. I guess I’ll load it on the Kindle when vacation rolls around in December.

  5. Great haul! I’m especially interested in reading Loving Frank. I gaze at it longingly every time I’m in the bookstore.

  6. What a great list! Looking forward to your tour stop!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

