Mailbox Monday ~ 10.13.08

October 13, 2008 at 12:59 pm | Posted in Books, LIfe | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Monday and Happy Columbus Day (for my US readers). I had a busy week in my mailbox, which is very nice when I’m actually opening the mail.  However, when I get to looking at my bookshelf, it gets quite intimidating.  So, here is what I found in my mailbox last week:

Broad Street by Christine Weiser ~ sent by Philadelphia Stories

I have read some interesting information about this novel, so I decided to give it a chance.  It’s about an all girls band, so I’m hoping that it will be a lot of fun.

Off the Menu by Christine Son ~ sent by the publisher

I received this book because I’ll be participating in the author’s TLC Book Tour in November.  I love the title, especially for Thanksgiving.

The Witch’s Trinity by Erika Mailman ~ signed and sent by the author

Thank you so much, Erika!  I am so thrilled to have a copy of this novel, as I originally rented it from the library.  In case you didn’t know, there are three ways you can win a copy of this wonderful novel.  Click here for the details.

A is for Atticus: Baby Names from Great Books by Lorilee Craker ~ unknown origin

I’m not sure how I received this book.  I searched my email for a clue, but came up with nothing.  It’s a fun baby name book, though.  My baby naming days are over, but it’s fun to look up names of people you know.  I can already say this would make a great gift for a mommy or daddy-to-be who loves to read.

Bedlam South by Mark Grisham and David Douglas ~ sent by the publicist

Marcia wrote an excellent review of this novel and I can’t wait to get started.

The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti ~ Sent by Lisa at Minds Alive on the Shelf

I won this book in her super awesome contest, even though I requested it using the wrong title. 🙂  Thanks for the great contest, Lisa!

My Lady of Cleves by Margaret Campbell Barnes ~ a gift from my co-worker

One of the contractors who works with us asked me to give him some book titles because he wanted to buy me a book for my birthday.  Of the list, he selected this novel, which received rave reviews from Marg at Reading Adventures.  I was so excited to open it.  I can’t wait to read it.  Anne of Cleves is such an interesting character to me.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know how you received “A is for Atticus,” because I got it too.

    It was a BBAW prize, for those who didn’t win in their category (I asked Amy, because I got it at the same time as ‘Book of Calamities’, which I won during BBAW).
    Thank you for clearing up the mystery! It’s all coming back to me now…

  2. It is so much fun to get new books! Broad Street is on my wishlist.

  3. Jen is right! Sorry, once again, I already had your address and was trying to get the list sent in…now I have all these people wondering how they got the book, lol!

    I hope you enjoy it!
    Don’t apologize! A little mystery in life is a good thing! 🙂

  4. You had quite the haul there. I forgot once again to write down what I received and I can’t remember once I put them away. I do have Broad Street though. I was planning on starting it today but with reading blogs I haven’t even cracked open a book.

  5. I’ll see you around the Off the Menu tour.

  6. I hope you enjoy it! It’s a great book.

  7. Oh you’re so lucky! I loved A Brief Gaudy Hour (I read it a long time ago) but I didn’t know until recently that the author has written My Lady of Cleves which is supposed to be similar.

  8. Great mailbox week, Jennifer.

    Good to see you back with this event. I still need to post mine.

    I have Broad Street and Off the Menu and will have Bedlam South soon thanks to Marcia at The Printed Page.

  9. You got some awsome titles. I would like to read a few of those!

    😀

    My mailbox

  10. Wow great list! I added The Witch’s Trinity to my wishlist.

    Amy
    http://readingtoolate.net

  11. Thank you for mentioning my book review of ‘Bedlam South’. I hope you and Shana enjoy it as much I did.

  12. I’m part of the “Off the Menu” tour as well. Looks like a great book and I can’t wait to read it. I’ll be looking out for your review!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

