The Witch’s Trinity Winners

October 30, 2008 at 8:53 am | Posted in Books | 5 Comments

Today Erika Mailman and I are announcing the last two winners in the October Spotlight giveaway for The Witch’s Trinity.  We started out with three contests, but the second two didn’t really take off as we had hoped.  Trial and error.  You never know what will work until you try.

We did have two entries in the “What’s Witchcraft Got To Do With It” contest.  As those readers took the time to write about topic of witchcraft, we are awarding the last two giveaway copies to those readers:

Holly from On My Bookshelf

It’s been quite a while since I actually studied the witchcraft trials in school. I always found the topic fascinating, though I’m not sure why. I think I found a lot of it so interesting just because of the study of human nature. I think we need to remember that people can believe different things and need not be persecuted for being different. Also, I think many “witches” were burned at the stake just because someone else thought something about them whether knowing the truth or not. Presumptions are no good! 🙂 Tolerance of anyone’s beliefs is key.

and

Michele from A Reader’s Respite

Like most students of history, I place great importance on studying the past in order to see patterns.  If society doesn’t understand the why and the how, it is virtually impossible to prevent similar atrocities in the future.  So to me, more important than the actual witch trials is the social and moral circumstances that were in place at the time which led otherwise good, upstanding citizens to commit such heinous acts that included the false imprisonment and even hanging of their family and neighbors for the perceived sin of witchcraft.  While fear and mistrust must certainly be present in the community, this alone is rarely enough to lead to events such as the Salem witch trials.  The spark which ignites the inferno is often the leadership of the community, be it secular or religious.  Often done for political purposes, this manipulation of people‘s emotions is nothing short of criminal.  We cannot dismiss the witch trials as an embarrassing, far-removed blight on American history.  We must be vigilant with ourselves and our leadership daily. One need look no further than modern day fears of terrorism and the politicians who exploit this fear for a situation that can — and in some instances already has — turned into modern day witch trials.  Are we, as a society, going to allow innocent people to be harmed in the name of fear?

Congratulations to both winners!  I hope that you enjoy this novel as much as I did!  I would also like to thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you so much! I can not wait to read this book — the more reviews I read, the more I became convinced that I will love it. Thanks for hosting the contest — it was fun. 🙂

  2. Congrats to Holly & Michele.

    Michele, I completely agree with needing to look at patterns, understand the why and how. It’s what I think about my reading of WWII & Holocaust fiction. Yeah, it is ghastly to read about, but I want to know HOW did that happen? How did the world stand by while it happened?

  3. I can’t wait to see what Holly and Michele think of it.

  4. Congrats to the winners!

  5. Hi and congratulations to the writers of such finely-expressed thoughts. It will be an honor to send copies to you two! And thanks so, so much to Jennifer for cooking up the idea.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

