Time to Freak Out

October 31, 2008 at 7:42 pm | Posted in LIfe | 17 Comments
Tags:

What’s scarier than Halloween?  Knowing that the next day is the first day of November – the day that NaNoWriMo starts.  I’m really starting to freak out.  What have I done?

Over the past two weeks or so, I’ve been overloaded with family, public speaking, traveling, and numerous personal and blog-related deadlines.  I feel like a zombie.  [If I haven’t been commenting on your blog recently, that’s why.  I still love you! :)]  I’m just now to the point where life can get back to normal when NaNoWriMo starts.  It’s not that big of a deal, right?  It’s only a commitment to write 50,000 words.  ACK!!!!  How am I going to write my reviews that are once again stacking up?  When will I have time to read?  More importantly, I must remind myself, when will I have quality time with my family?

I also need to ask myself when am I ever going to set aside the time to do something I’ve always dreamed of doing – writing a novel?  This blog itself was a way for me to do something just for myself.  It makes me happy and enriches my life.  Still, I can’t say that I will be happy 40 years from now if I haven’t even tried to write a novel.  I don’t want to regret that.

So, I’m going to take some deep breaths and set out to reach my goal.  If I don’t reach the goal, I will still have written more in November than probably ever before.  That will be something I can be proud of – and nothing to freak out about, right?

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Go for it!

  2. Good luck!

  3. You can do it!!

  4. Jennifer, I’m positive you’ll reach your goals. I have faith in you!

  5. word by word, day by day! 🙂

  6. The first step (first words) is the most difficult usually. We’ll cheer you on! 🙂

  7. Writing a novel is a dream of mine too. I figure with all the blog writing…at least I am writing. Gotta keep the mind sharp.

    You can do it! Then you can provide us with ARCs of your first novel!

  8. I’m starting the nanowrimo tomorrow too. Good luck trying to juggle everything. That’s just another level of the challenge I guess. =)

  9. hey, I’ve failed miserably the last few years, but I may have an idea I can keep carrying out this time! of course, unlike you, I only have a husband to contend with for my time. oh, and we’ll be moving. again. in the meantime, I’m off to a ripping start. the library’s not even open yet and I’m on page 2! 😀

  10. Jennifer, This is a great thing to undertake, and you’re absolutely right–even if you don’t hit 50,000 words, you’ll still have more than you did on Oct. 31! And that’s how novels get written…page by page.

    Warm regards,
    Erika

  11. Good luck!

  12. Just remember you’re not getting paid for this and the only person who is going to put pressure on you is, well, yourself. If it gets too overwhelming, tone it back and do something fun.

    I might try it next Nov., although this is the busiest time of the year for large corporations–finishing projects, etc. When I get home I’m pretty tired.

    Anyway, Jen, don’t stress! Do what you can.

  13. I feel your pain. I’ve got twenty minutes to go on day 1 and am still 600 words short. Not a good omen, especially since today was Saturday…

  14. Last year I wrote about 1,500 words before giving up and suddenly devoting tons of time to my blog as prorastination. 😉

    You can do it!

  15. […] November 2, 2008 at 12:20 am | In Books | Thank you everyone for your support on my Freak Out post.  I needed that going in.  You guys are the best!  I’m proud to report that my word […]

  16. It’s OK to freak out. It can be a good thing:

  17. YOu can do it! I respect your efforts, your enthusiasm, your freaking out! Go for it. and that Bad Monkeys review was great. I just might have to add it to my tbr! thanks, Care


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

