Mailbox Monday on Tuesday

November 18, 2008 at 5:18 pm | Posted in Books | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week was a wonderful week for Literate Housewife’s mailbox (front porch, actually).  It was a bonanza of wonderful books and was by far the most exciting mail week I’ve had since I started my blog.  So, what was it that makes me so excited?  Take a look:

cover-of-reluctant-widow cover-of-the-conqueror1
The Reluctant Widow and The Conqueror by Georgette Heyer ~ sent by Sourcebooks
cover-of-twilight1 cover-of-new-moon-twilight
cover-of-eclipse-twilight cover-of-breaking-dawn-twilight
The ENTIRE Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer ~ won as part of Maw Books’ month long awareness campaign for Darfur and sent to me by Hatchette Book Group.  I cannot tell you how left out I’ve felt about this from day one.  Now I can hardly wait to make it through my existing ARCs so I can dive on in.  With the movie, I’m having a hard time not scrapping everything and reading Twilight

cover-of-bitter-and-sweet
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford and signed by the author (!) ~ won from Marcia’s contest (lucky, lucky me!!!).  Marcia’s review is wonderful and I cannot wait (again).

cover-of-jewel-of-medina
The Jewel of Medina by Sherry Jones ~ snagged as part October’s Early Reviewer from LibraryThing.  It’s been at least 5 months since I snagged my last book, but in October I hit the jackpot – and it was completely accidental.  Given the number of ARCs I have, I only picked a couple historical fiction looking books in October and almost didn’t.  When I requested The Jewel of Medina, I didn’t connect it at all to the controversy earlier this year when Random House decided to pull this book for fear of offending Muslims.  Now, published by Beaufort Books, I can see what the entire stir was about.  Yeah!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for stopping by the mailbox this week. Thanks for the shout out. I hope you enjoy ‘Hotel’ as much as I did. And, of course, you got one I’ve been eyeing, ‘The Jewel of Medina’.

  2. Oh my gosh! I so want Hotel on The Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  3. I’m probably not really likely to read any of the Twilight series, but they do have gorgeous covers, don’t they? In fact, all those books have really great covers. Have a wonderful time reading the lot!

  4. Well let me just say that although I am not a vampire lit kind of gal (just ain’t my thing), I devoured the Twilight series. If nothing else, the progression of the books elicits strong opinions!

    I’m working my way through the Jewel of Medina right now…I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it.

  5. Wow…I am so envious. These are all wonderful books and the ones i have been wanting to read for long. I have read the first 3 Stephanie Meyer’s books, I am waiting for ‘Breaking Dawn’ prices to go down, but last i checked, they had increased. Someday.

  6. I will be so interseted to hear about your reactions to the Twilight books. You know how I felt about them 🙂

    I also have Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet and am so looking forward to it. Yay for great new books!

  7. wow, excellent books! i’m currently reading The Reluctant Widow.
    And you must read the Twilight saga. The first 3 are great.

  8. Jennifer, you did have a great mailbox last week. I got a few Georgette Heyer books today-The Conqueror being one of them. I can’t wait to read it.

  9. I make a point to read Georgette Hayer soon. I have heard so many good things about her books.

    Books set in hotels are of great interest to me as well. So I’ll check out Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. 🙂

  10. I am so excited for you to read Heyer and also the Twilight series! I’ve only read the first Twilight book. I’m waiting for my 14 year-old to finish the next one before I start it.

  11. You and your front porch did have a great week! Enjoy all your new books … I’m glad I’m not the last to read the Twilight books (my daughter has already reserved this weekend for us to go to the movie). I’m hoping to get *The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet* to read.

  12. what a great bunch of books. congrats.

  13. You received some great titles! Happy reading!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

